ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2012, 03:35 PM   #1
bigmd OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Oddometer: 66
front end help

hey guys been working on my 82 cb450 for the past few months and like all my projects it has spiraled out of control.after snapping a bolt in my freshly powdered upper triple tree and had to purchase another one from ebay.i bought the complete upper and lower for the same year cb.when i got it i wasnt just able to use the upper because it was slightly narrower then the one that came on the bike.so both the new upper and lower are at the powdercoaters.my question is since the new clamps are slightly narrower is that gonna throw everything off when it comes to mounting the wheel and lining up the brake?if i have to i will get rid of the sppedo cable gear.
bigmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 06:21 PM   #2
thomas.tc.young
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 848
Unless your hitting the ton I wouldn't worry about it too much. Tube blowouts and other old bike problems should be higher on the list of other things to worry about
__________________
1969 CL350 permanent project
2000 Ninja 250 Freeby
the klr/versys project: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=810279
thomas.tc.young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 12:57 AM   #3
chollo9
Screwed the Pooch
 
chollo9's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Silk Hope, NC
Oddometer: 1,345
How much is slightly? 5mm? 10? You're going to have to make up for the difference somewhere down below or the wheel won't fit. Ideally, i.e., correctly, you should take half of the total from each side to keep the wheel centered, so half from the speedo drive and half from the spacer on the opposite side. Having said that, there are plenty of bikes running around with wheels that aren't lined up. Bottom line though, the total width of the hub with spacers etc. has to match the distance between the fork sliders--you can't spread or squeeze 'em or the forks won't stroke smoothly.
__________________
"It's not that I don't like people...I just find I am happier when they're not around"
chollo9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 11:44 AM   #4
anonny
What could go wrong?
 
anonny's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Beautiful Revelstoke BC
Oddometer: 5,513
You could probably make up the difference by altering
1) the nut length that the axle mates to
2) take that amount off the speedo drive (you have 2 sides on this to work with)

How much difference is there?
__________________
Kawasaki H1 build thread

71- 450 Honda CL re & re

Just another pathetic sheep following the herd

anonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 07:17 AM   #5
bigmd OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Oddometer: 66
thanks for the responses guys.the difference is maybe 1/4 of inch from what i recall.i just tried them out quickly before i took to powder coater.the removal of the sppedo drive gear seems like the easy way to go.can you guys recommend where to get some spacers?
bigmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 08:36 AM   #6
RedRaptor22
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Louisiana
Oddometer: 154
I know there is some website people use here that sells nothing but spacers, never been to it myself but with google it should'nt be too hard to find.
RedRaptor22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 12:46 PM   #7
anonny
What could go wrong?
 
anonny's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Beautiful Revelstoke BC
Oddometer: 5,513
Aluminum pipe cut to length?
__________________
Kawasaki H1 build thread

71- 450 Honda CL re & re

Just another pathetic sheep following the herd

anonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:34 AM   #8
bigmd OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Oddometer: 66
yeah that might work,thanks
bigmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:02 AM   #9
bigmd OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Oddometer: 66
ok guys thanks for help turns out im an idiot and the triples were the same size.everything fit together nicely.next question is i want to replace frayed speedo cable with something a little shorter.the tach cable i removed is the perfect size.can it be used,when i look online they sell separate cables for speedo and tach so im assuming theres a difference,they do look the same though.
bigmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:52 PM   #10
anonny
What could go wrong?
 
anonny's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Beautiful Revelstoke BC
Oddometer: 5,513
If the tach cable ends screw on to the speedo and speedo drive your 1/2 way home, now all you have to do is measure the inner cables drives and ensure they are the same.
__________________
Kawasaki H1 build thread

71- 450 Honda CL re & re

Just another pathetic sheep following the herd

anonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 11:36 AM   #11
bigmd OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Oddometer: 66
Thanks I checked them and they are identical so I went ahead and ordered the shorter cable.
bigmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014