ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 06:24 AM   #1
gkgeiger OP
Every ride is an ADV
 
gkgeiger's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Akron, Ohio/ Naples Florida
Oddometer: 624
Any Zumo 220 users here?

I like the looks and price point on this unit, but I'm concerned about the attachment of the unit to the bracket. Do you think it would handle rough Adventure style riding. It appears to just snap to the plastic brkt. I have a Nuvi with a similar looking brkt. and I'm afraid it wouldn't stay attached. Thanks in advance,
__________________
Getting old is not for Sissy's!
Gene
'14 R1200GSW
'12 NC700X/D
gkgeiger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:21 PM   #2
stegs
Gnarly Adventurer
 
stegs's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: New Zealand
Oddometer: 213
Haven't actually ridden with the 220 yet.....it just arrived 3 days ago, but the fitting is more secure than the GPScity mount I use for my Nuvi 660. There is an additional clip that clamps down over the top of the unit and appears to hold it very securely.

I really have to get out and test it though.
stegs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:18 AM   #3
lexluther11
Ride,Eat,Rest-Repeat
 
lexluther11's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 1,071
I have one ride off/road all the time and it's never come loose. It has another latch on top that locks it in place.

lexluther11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:59 AM   #4
gkgeiger OP
Every ride is an ADV
 
gkgeiger's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Akron, Ohio/ Naples Florida
Oddometer: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexluther11 View Post
I have one ride off/road all the time and it's never come loose. It has another latch on top that locks it in place.

Thanks, that's good news. One more question, has the mini usb given you any problem?
__________________
Getting old is not for Sissy's!
Gene
'14 R1200GSW
'12 NC700X/D
gkgeiger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 08:46 AM   #5
lexluther11
Ride,Eat,Rest-Repeat
 
lexluther11's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 1,071
It's all good with no troubles at all.
lexluther11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 12:31 PM   #6
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by gkgeiger View Post
Thanks, that's good news. One more question, has the mini usb given you any problem?
The Garmin's mini USB port is a known and documented problem on ADVRider when use in a harsh environment.
The mount pictured is a solid cradle, I combine mine with a RAM ball/arm system.

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 01:09 PM   #7
lexluther11
Ride,Eat,Rest-Repeat
 
lexluther11's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 1,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnut View Post
The Garmin's mini USB port is a known and documented problem on ADVRider when use in a harsh environment.
The mount pictured is a solid cradle, I combine mine with a RAM ball/arm system.

Bruce
I have it mounted with the ball & arm system. I run mine with the built in battery and plug it in the lighter to charge if it gets low.

lexluther11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 04:36 PM   #8
revitup
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Burlington, Brant and Dundas
Oddometer: 161
Just got my 220 today and am just in the third hour of down loading my City Navigator. So how long does this process take based on an average computer set-up?

I went out for a small ride and noticed that alot of the small side roads were not shown.
__________________
"All reved up and no place to go"
2011 GSA
revitup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 06:02 AM   #9
Mudcat
Unregistered
 
Mudcat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Bay Area
Oddometer: 4,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by revitup View Post
I went out for a small ride and noticed that alot of the small side roads were not shown.
Compared to my Zumo 450, the 220 is a big disappointment. It’s in for a warranty repair right now, just stopped working.

In Settings you can set the details shown on its map. Too show all the roads you must use the highest setting
__________________
I've got to be cool
Relax
Take a long long ride on my motor bike
Untill I'm ready

Mudcat screwed with this post 09-28-2012 at 06:09 AM
Mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 10:57 AM   #10
revitup
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Burlington, Brant and Dundas
Oddometer: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudcat View Post
Compared to my Zumo 450, the 220 is a big disappointment. It’s in for a warranty repair right now, just stopped working.

In Settings you can set the details shown on its map. Too show all the roads you must use the highest setting
Thanks for the info I'll try that.

Just got off the phone with tech support. Seems like you cannot down load the latest free Maps with their City Navigator CD in place. With it the CD out, it took about two hours or so to down load.
__________________
"All reved up and no place to go"
2011 GSA
revitup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014