User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-10-2012, 04:15 PM   #1
flyingdirty12 OP
n00b

Oddometer: 7
Question 85 KLR worth the headache?

I'm new to advrider and to Motorcycles. I found a KLR 600 on CL. The post says it want start but it will turn over. If I can get it for $250 would it it be worth time and money to get it running and use it as a starter bike. Or should I just keep looking for a KLR that is in my limited budget. I like the idea of building my first bike, but if I can't find parts i don't need the hassle.

Any thoughts?
flyingdirty12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 04:25 PM   #2
JAB
Unsprung Weight

Oddometer: 1,232
It's very possibly a worn out old motorcycle. If you can figure out what's wrong before you buy it and it won't cost much, go for it. Not the most popular KLR due to age. If it needs a battery, tires, rings, cables and a chain you might be better off with a runner that costs a little more. Or go for it and if it's real bad you can part it out and make some of your money back. If you do get it running it could make a good intro bike. You will find it's limitations as you gain experience. Good luck.
Old 09-10-2012, 04:30 PM   #3
sailah
Lampin' it

Oddometer: 5,417
How comfortable are you doing the basics like checking for fuel, spark and compression?

Fuel is easy so is spark, ten minutes with the basic hand tools should get you a quick answer as to whether the owner has no clue.

For 250 lets assume it has no spark and no fuel

The spark is usually a simple but sometimes not answer. Often times it's the plug or wire or bad ground. All those are cheap to fix.

Also assuming it has no fuel, plan on cleaning the carbs. Thats cheap too. Maybe you need a rebuild kit. Also cheap.

Both those things you can do yourself even with limited knowledge from forum members.