ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 05:39 AM   #1
Emoto OP
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,866
Question Does MapSource work with new maps or is BaseCamp Mandatory?

So, based on comments I have read here and there, I am wondering if people who are buying the newer Garmin GPS units and also the newest maps, are still able to use MapSource for planning routes and pushing them to the units, or if one MUST use BaseCamp?

I think Garmin has stopped supporting Mapsource and now only pushes/offers BaseCamp, but will MapSource still work?

As semi-lame as MapSource is, I am used to it so am wondering if I get a new unit of some kind (i.e., Zumo 660, or Zumo 350, or Montana) will I be forced to abandon MapSource?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug 20% off: http://www.smugmug.com/signup/?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 05:49 AM   #2
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
So, based on comments I have read here and there, I am wondering if people who are buying the newer Garmin GPS units and also the newest maps, are still able to use MapSource for planning routes and pushing them to the units, or if one MUST use BaseCamp?

I think Garmin has stopped supporting Mapsource and now only pushes/offers BaseCamp, but will MapSource still work?

As semi-lame as MapSource is, I am used to it so am wondering if I get a new unit of some kind (i.e., Zumo 660, or Zumo 350, or Montana) will I be forced to abandon MapSource?
I use Mapsource with two of the GPS you list - Zumo 660 and Montana - the Topo and CN street maps work fine within the Mapsource shell.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 05:58 AM   #3
Emoto OP
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight Error View Post
I use Mapsource with two of the GPS you list - Zumo 660 and Montana - the Topo and CN street maps work fine within the Mapsource shell.
Awesome!

So, the map set(s) you're using this way are pretty recent, right? And are they the "lifetime" versions you download, or from DVDs?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug 20% off: http://www.smugmug.com/signup/?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 05:59 AM   #4
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Awesome!

So, the map set(s) you're using this way are pretty recent, right? And are they the "lifetime" versions you download, or from DVDs?
The CN maps are lifetime, Topo (100k and 24k versions) are off discs.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:23 AM   #5
Emoto OP
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight Error View Post
The CN maps are lifetime, Topo (100k and 24k versions) are off discs.
Excellent. Thanks! Of course, the downside here is that, price aside, the reasons I employ to stop myself from buying one of the newer bigger screen GPSes, are being stripped away.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug 20% off: http://www.smugmug.com/signup/?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:52 AM   #6
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Excellent. Thanks! Of course, the downside here is that, price aside, the reasons I employ to stop myself from buying one of the newer bigger screen GPSes, are being stripped away.
Come to the bigside... My Zumo/Montana setup is damned near perfect (it should be, considering what I've paid for the buggers!). The Zumo has CN maps and the Montana does 24k topo, on an ideal ride I'll use a bit of each.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:54 AM   #7
Emoto OP
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight Error View Post
Come to the bigside... My Zumo/Montana setup is damned near perfect (it should be, considering what I've paid for the buggers!). The Zumo has CN maps and the Montana does 24k topo, on an ideal ride I'll use a bit of each.
Dude, you're killing me!

Edited: And are you saying that you run the 660 with street maps and the Montana with topos simultaneously?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug 20% off: http://www.smugmug.com/signup/?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF

Emoto screwed with this post 09-12-2012 at 07:03 AM
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:58 AM   #8
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,707
I just bought a new Montana and a new City Nav for it. The new City Nav works fine with Mapsource.

But the new BaseCamp is not seeing my old 100k Topos which is causing me some grief.

I haven't had any luck yet getting a solution from Garmin.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:08 AM   #9
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,122
i'm on 2012 CN working just fine with Mapsource.
i have downloaded and tried Basecamp and i'm not a fan at all.
i've gotten use to how to get things done in mapsource and my brain is happy with how it works. i tried creating a simple route in Basecamp camp and i keep saying wtf? i do IT work and garmin did not think at all how to migrated over existing mapsource user work-flow experience. nothing works the same and that is a poor way to evolve your software; buy alienating existing users. i know i could spend the time and figure it out, but mapsource does what i need so i'm not bothering.
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Cycle World Adventure Rally:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=956350
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:19 AM   #10
Emoto OP
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by eakins View Post
i'm on 2012 CN working just fine with Mapsource.
i have downloaded and tried Basecamp and i'm not a fan at all.
i've gotten use to how to get things done in mapsource and my brain is happy with how it works. i tried creating a simple route in Basecamp camp and i keep saying wtf? i do IT work and garmin did not think at all how to migrated over existing mapsource user work-flow experience. nothing works the same and that is a poor way to evolve your software; buy alienating existing users. i know i could spend the time and figure it out, but mapsource does what i need so i'm not bothering.
Spoke with Garmin the other day when I was seeking info on fixing my old 2720, and I asked them about using MapSource files in Basecamp, since I have built a bunch of routes over the years. The guy told me that he thought you needed to open the file in MapSource and save it as a GPX, then you could pull the GPX file into Basecamp. This came across not as so much official, but as him trying to figure out a way to get it done, so YMMV, but if it works, maybe it would help you.

If I get a new unit and new maps, I sure would like to keep using MapSource, and so far it sounds that that ought to be ok, except for what wbbnm is experiencing with his topo maps. Hopefully, he will post a fix, if he finds one.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug 20% off: http://www.smugmug.com/signup/?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:24 AM   #11
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
...
If I get a new unit and new maps, I sure would like to keep using MapSource, and so far it sounds that that ought to be ok, except for what wbbnm is experiencing with his topo maps. Hopefully, he will post a fix, if he finds one.
I think the question to ask in his case is how old are the maps? Mine are the latest release (I've also got the very old version that came on 3 CDs, but I haven't even opened their case in years).

I believe Mapsource support will eventually end, and everyone will have to transition to Basecamp or whatever else Garmin cooks up. There is no harm in knowing how to use both BC and MS.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:49 AM   #12
Emoto OP
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight Error View Post
I think the question to ask in his case is how old are the maps? Mine are the latest release (I've also got the very old version that came on 3 CDs, but I haven't even opened their case in years).

I believe Mapsource support will eventually end, and everyone will have to transition to Basecamp or whatever else Garmin cooks up. There is no harm in knowing how to use both BC and MS.
I agree, no harm. Can you think of anything about Basecamp to recommend it, or some feature that is really nice that MapSource doesn't have? (serious question, I have no idea)
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug 20% off: http://www.smugmug.com/signup/?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:59 AM   #13
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
I agree, no harm. Can you think of anything about Basecamp to recommend it, or some feature that is really nice that MapSource doesn't have? (serious question, I have no idea)
Geotagging photos. If your camera clock is synched to GPS time (crossing time zones might get fidgety), Basecamp has the ability to compare time/date stamps on jpg files to a track and can add geotag info to the photos.

The 3D view of terrain is neat and helps if you're trying to visualize a trip through the mountains.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 10:33 AM   #14
Emoto OP
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight Error View Post
Geotagging photos. If your camera clock is synched to GPS time (crossing time zones might get fidgety), Basecamp has the ability to compare time/date stamps on jpg files to a track and can add geotag info to the photos.

The 3D view of terrain is neat and helps if you're trying to visualize a trip through the mountains.
Ok, geotagging is kind of cool.

Am I right in assuming that a 3D terrain view requires topo maps? IOW, there is no embedded elevation or contour info in our street maps, is there?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug 20% off: http://www.smugmug.com/signup/?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 10:40 AM   #15
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Ok, geotagging is kind of cool.

Am I right in assuming that a 3D terrain view requires topo maps? IOW, there is no embedded elevation or contour info in our street maps, is there?
Correct. As I understand its evolution, Basecamp started out as a program for hikers/hunters/etc... to plan and visualize routes through the woods. The ability to use topo map data was baked right in from the start.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014