ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-03-2012, 10:59 PM   #1
Epictetus70 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Epictetus70's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: The desert!
Oddometer: 114
Help! Garmin 60CS

I've owned my 60CS for quite some time and it starting to turn off on me. (Why the face?).

So I tried putting some material behind the contact points, to create a more positive connection with the batteries, no go. I also tried wrapping duct tape on batteries, no go and I also put a portion of ear foamies behind the batteries, no go.

I also called Garmin and they don't work on them anymore because they're old and don't carry the parts.

I don't mind buying another GPS like the Montana but before I do I want to exhaust all possible means of fixing this one. It's been a great unit.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Ride safe, 360 degrees.
Epictetus70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:15 AM   #2
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,583
If it is just a battery issue, sounds like you have taken all the necessary steps to diagnose it. Does this also happen if you have it hooked up to 12v?
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 06:34 AM   #3
Riteris
Dessert Runner
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: A place many ADV Riders fear: The Nation's Capital
Oddometer: 2,819
If it is the loose battery problem, it is too late to just tighten up the batteries. You might need to take it apart and re-solder the connections.
__________________
Chris

I am taking the advice of all those people that told me, "Hey kid, why don't you go play in traffic!"
Riteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 07:41 AM   #4
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,711
I have this problem a couple of times with mine. The power from the battery is coupled to the main ckt board by two springy contacts. I fixed it by taking the unit apart and bending those contacts up a bit. I also cleaned them and put dielectric grease on them. This has fixed the problem both times.

If you also use external power, I would recomment taking the small internal connector off, cleaning the contacts as best you can and put dielectric grease on those contacts too.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:47 AM   #5
tedder
irregular
 
tedder's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles (ktown)
Oddometer: 8,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave View Post
Does this also happen if you have it hooked up to 12v?
That.
tedder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:59 PM   #6
Epictetus70 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Epictetus70's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: The desert!
Oddometer: 114
Thanks everyone for your insight, next, take apart and re-solder and/or re-bend contacts........I'll advise if that does the trick.

Thanks again!
Epictetus70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:54 AM   #7
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,711
Don't forget to clean and put delectric grease on those contacts. I think the grease is probably the most important thing.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 10:11 AM   #8
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,173
I don't know how much room there is in there but maybe solder on jumper wires to replace the spring contacts. The spring contacts are used for ease of assembly line volumes. The unit is well out of warranty so the mod could only do good. A bit more of a pain if you ever have to go in there again but quite the gain in reliability re vibration no longer being an issue.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:51 PM   #9
Epictetus70 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Epictetus70's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: The desert!
Oddometer: 114
Eh?

Cleaned contact point, even bent them gently to make better contact and added dielectric grease and no go!

I'm thinking my screen is just puttered out. Next stop is soldering jumper cables as advised.

Thanks again everyone
Epictetus70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:38 AM   #10
Riteris
Dessert Runner
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: A place many ADV Riders fear: The Nation's Capital
Oddometer: 2,819
Have you tried external power yet?
__________________
Chris

I am taking the advice of all those people that told me, "Hey kid, why don't you go play in traffic!"
Riteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014