ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2012, 02:06 AM   #76
Sylvia
vir sapit qui pauca loqui
 
Sylvia's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: taking pics
Oddometer: 3,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colorado CJ View Post
Well, here's a few more to help you consider

D600 50mm F1.8 G lens
Hey Colorado, some nice images there, well done mate.
The DR is reminiscent of the D800/D4.
I wonder why?
__________________
Slightly Orange

Sylvia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:49 AM   #77
CRP6001
Photographer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Countryside near Hanover, Indiana
Oddometer: 150
I ordered the D600 before reading any reviews.
I knew it would be suitable for my purposes by examining the specs.
Kai and Ken are entertainment, like ADVrider is entertainment. CRP
CRP6001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:51 PM   #78
nachtflug
infidel
 
nachtflug's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Harrys place
Oddometer: 45,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylvia View Post
ken who?



Kai who?

The D600 as an entry level camera is very, very good. Sony made the sensor and its as good as it gets. Sure its does not have some of the niceties of the pro bodies but for entry level its an excellent contender. Forget Ken and Kai and their wheel barrows. Its an entry level body and a bloody good one.

It does lack some sealing but everything else screams buy me.

that is freaking cool. I work on electronics (kind of) for a living and seeing that is really cool. I'm very interested in my options as I'm afraid the D700 might get pulled out from under me if I send it in for service. It seems to have a problem running the SB900 flash and as I've had the flash serviced it would seem the camera is the culprit. With the 700 now discontinued should I send it in and they deem it unrepairable under the extended warranty (has happened twice before) I might be forced into making a choice. It seems the D3S isn't even sold in the US anymore? That would be my first chice but I am somewhat limited as the extended warranty is from a big box store (Best Buy) and I'd get store credit through them. They don't even carry the D4 in the stores only online and I think I'm only allowed to buy "in store" so I'm kind of not liking my position. No more 700, D3S, don't want an 800 and would rather have the 3S over the D4..I should have bought another D700 when they were $2200....
nachtflug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:57 PM   #79
runpasthefence
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Charleston SC
Oddometer: 247
Welp, my D90 took a bath yesterday out in the boat. I haven't been following the development in the camera world, so it was quite handy that this thread was awaiting a click to "shiny things."

I'm an amateur, but I'd been thinking of making the switch to FX for a while. I'm not sure why...probably just because I don't know what I'm missing, and I like new shiny shit. I could probably sell all of my DX stuff for close to $1000, but I'll have to do some serious cost/benefit analysis on making the switch.

Right now, I'm tempted to say I'm more inclined to buy the D800 over the D600. The price point for the D600 just doesn't seem to fit very well. A few hundred cheaper and it'd be a no brainer, it seems. If I commit to FX, I'm thinking the D800 might be worth the coin.

Of course, the more practical answer is to stick with my glass and buy a D7000. I've got a research to do.

I'll keep y'all updated on how my choice evolves, but I've been cameraless for a day, and I'm already frustrated, so this might be a quick decision.
runpasthefence is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:34 PM   #80
Dave
Huh?
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: 12 mile circle
Oddometer: 2,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colorado CJ View Post
This is outside Jackson in the Bridger Teton NF, right?

If so, my ex lost her P&S Canon camera up by those trees about 8 years ago. If you see it, could you send it back?
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:16 AM   #81
skysailor
Rat Rider
 
skysailor's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Kenora, Canada
Oddometer: 3,305
Hey Colorado, nice captures for sure. Share with me why the same images could not have been captured with a D7000, or any cropped sensor DSLR? Or for that matter, a TOTL P&S, like a G12 or P7700? Does the FX camera really make a visible difference on a computer screen? I ask simply because I am wrestling with indecision here. D7000, or D600? That is the question?
Lyle
skysailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:29 AM   #82
NikonsAndVStroms
Beastly Photographer
 
NikonsAndVStroms's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Hub of the Universe
Oddometer: 36,381
So I've been reading of issues with the D600 and dust due to the shutter not closing completely, have any 600 owners here had that issue?
__________________
Motorcycles save lives


"It's the game of life. Do I win or do I lose? One day they're gonna shut the game down. I gotta have as much fun and go around the board as many times as I can before it's my turn to leave."
NikonsAndVStroms is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:38 AM   #83
CRP6001
Photographer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Countryside near Hanover, Indiana
Oddometer: 150
I've read about dust and oil on D600 sensors, but I was not concerned.
I just took the camera outside, stopped the lens down to f32, and shot
the sky. There are some spots visible when the image is viewed at 100%
Nothing has shown up so far in normal photographs, so I'm not really
concerned. With the mirror up, I can't see any dirt or oil, but I am looking
with unaided vision, perhaps some magnification would reveal the dirty
truth. I would be reluctant to attempt cleaning the sensor, out of concern
of doing damage. CRP
CRP6001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:41 AM   #84
NikonsAndVStroms
Beastly Photographer
 
NikonsAndVStroms's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Hub of the Universe
Oddometer: 36,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRP6001 View Post
I've read about dust and oil on D600 sensors, but I was not concerned.
I just took the camera outside, stopped the lens down to f32, and shot
the sky. There are some spots visible when the image is viewed at 100%
Nothing has shown up so far in normal photographs, so I'm not really
concerned. With the mirror up, I can't see any dirt or oil, but I am looking
with unaided vision, perhaps some magnification would reveal the dirty
truth. I would be reluctant to attempt cleaning the sensor, out of concern
of doing damage. CRP
Usually just a simple bulb blower thing (not sure of the real name) will do it, I've never had to wet clean a sensor.
__________________
Motorcycles save lives


"It's the game of life. Do I win or do I lose? One day they're gonna shut the game down. I gotta have as much fun and go around the board as many times as I can before it's my turn to leave."
NikonsAndVStroms is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:51 AM   #85
CRP6001
Photographer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Countryside near Hanover, Indiana
Oddometer: 150
I've probably got a blower brush stashed somewhere.
I'm going to use the built in sensor cleaner more often.
I doubt that either would remove oil. CRP
CRP6001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:55 AM   #86
NikonsAndVStroms
Beastly Photographer
 
NikonsAndVStroms's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Hub of the Universe
Oddometer: 36,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRP6001 View Post
I've probably got a blower brush stashed somewhere.
I'm going to use the built in sensor cleaner more often.
I doubt that either would remove oil. CRP
Do you have it set to clean at start up/shut down? It takes an extra half second but is definitely worth it. Try running it a few times in a row at different angles then another F32 shot, I've had that work for me before.
__________________
Motorcycles save lives


"It's the game of life. Do I win or do I lose? One day they're gonna shut the game down. I gotta have as much fun and go around the board as many times as I can before it's my turn to leave."
NikonsAndVStroms is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 12:13 PM   #87
CRP6001
Photographer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Countryside near Hanover, Indiana
Oddometer: 150
Thanks for the advise. I was wondering if holding the
camera at different angles might make a difference
while running the sensor cleaner. Going to the menu
to enable the cleaner at start up/ shut down right now,
then I'm going for a ride, and taking the camera. CRP
CRP6001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 01:46 PM   #88
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 17,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikonsAndVStroms View Post
Do you have it set to clean at start up/shut down? It takes an extra half second but is definitely worth it. Try running it a few times in a row at different angles then another F32 shot, I've had that work for me before.


Got the features, might as well use it.
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 01:55 PM   #89
NikonsAndVStroms
Beastly Photographer
 
NikonsAndVStroms's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Hub of the Universe
Oddometer: 36,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowMule View Post


Got the features, might as well use it.
It's really a requirement with these full frame sensors, they are like magnets for dust. That's one thing I miss about shooting 4/3 since you could change lenses as slowly as you want and with the small sensor/the shake cleaning being so good you'd almost never have dust spots.
__________________
Motorcycles save lives


"It's the game of life. Do I win or do I lose? One day they're gonna shut the game down. I gotta have as much fun and go around the board as many times as I can before it's my turn to leave."
NikonsAndVStroms is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 03:25 PM   #90
Colorado CJ
Studly Adventurer
 
Colorado CJ's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Loveland, CO
Oddometer: 850
D600 + WU-1b + DSLR Dashboard = AWESOME!!

A few months ago I bough the WU-1B wireless adapter for my D600. After downloading Nikons App for Android, I was very sorely disappointed.

Nikon's app is VERY limiting and only features a shutter, there is no adjustment to the camera settings available.

Fast forward to today. I was doing some searching and found another App, called DSLR Dashboard. After installing the app, I was blown away! EVERY CAMERA SETTING is adjustable through this app. It even has built in settings that the camera doesn't have, such as focus stacking. The focus stacking setting actually lets the app take over the camera and adjusts focus for each frame for as many frames as you want to shoot.

My Nexus 7 will now go with me on all my photo outing as the WU-1B is an incredible addition to the D600 with this software.

Here is a screen shot using my Nexus 7. I was actually inside the house when I took this picture. My camera was outside about 50 feet away as I was controlling the camera through my tablet

__________________
My Photography Page:http://andrewmarjamaphotography.com

'09 DL650
'06 DR650
Colorado CJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014