User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-16-2012, 02:54 PM   #1
drdubb OP
OFWG

Oddometer: 340
NC to Utah

I've been thinking about a trip to Colorado and Utah. This post is a kernal of the beginning of a plan to execute this trip.
I'm planning about 14-16 days, second half of June '13.
I'll be riding a 1995 Honda Nighthawk. Bike currently has about 25 K miles.
I will be camping most of the way. I'm a retired teacher and money is an issue.
The goal is to ride some fun roads and see a part of the country that I've not experienced.
I've laid out a preliminary route, but I'm not wedded to it.
I like to stop and take pics, visit with folks and generally take a mellow approach.

I'm wondering how many miles I can cover per day once I'm out west. Most of the days are between 250 - 300. Sounds like a lot once I'm in the hills. When I was on the BRP, 200 miles was a lot in one day, but the speed limit was 45.
'71 SL 350 - Honda

drdubb screwed with this post 09-16-2012 at 03:27 PM
drdubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 03:22 PM   #2
drdubb OP
OFWG

Map to Colorado/Utah from NC

Let's see if this works

'71 SL 350 - Honda
Old 09-16-2012, 07:11 PM   #3
sealsam
Sam...I am.

Oddometer: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by drdubb View Post
Let's see if this works

We kinda got the idea. In UT ride Hwy 12, visit Zion, Bryce, Cedar Breaks, Capitol Reef, Arches, Canyonlands, Moab. If you get these major sites covered, you'll be a happy camper!
sealsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 05:07 PM   #4
FotoTEX
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,663
That is a can't go wrong ride. I am headed up to part of your route in a couple of days. Awesome area.
FotoTEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 05:11 PM   #5
drdubb OP
OFWG

Camping.

I'd love to get some ideas for campgrounds, places to eat. I'm flying blind.
'71 SL 350 - Honda
Old 09-18-2012, 10:15 AM   #6
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer