ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2012, 08:36 PM   #1
ChadHahn OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 257
Help Installing AMPS powered mount on R1100GS

I tried to search but couldn't find anything.

I was wondering how to wire the powered AMPS mount into my R1100GS.

Thanks,

Chad
ChadHahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:01 PM   #2
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadHahn View Post
I tried to search but couldn't find anything.

I was wondering how to wire the powered AMPS mount into my R1100GS.
I usually hook directly to the battery terminals. I like to have the gps stay on when I shut the bike off to keep tracks in one segment. I don't worry about the gps killing the battery since I never leave it on the mount when I'm not using the bike.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:36 AM   #3
FatChance
Road Captain
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 10,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadHahn View Post
I was wondering how to wire the powered AMPS mount into my R1100GS.
Red to positive, black to ground (negative).
__________________
Pain in the Butte Ranch
Durango, Colorado

- Calculated risk or forbidden fruit?
FatChance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 11:42 AM   #4
ChadHahn OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I usually hook directly to the battery terminals. I like to have the gps stay on when I shut the bike off to keep tracks in one segment. I don't worry about the gps killing the battery since I never leave it on the mount when I'm not using the bike.
I was wondering if this was the best way. I'll do it. I finally got my ball mount so I'm ready to try and hook it up.

Chad
ChadHahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014