User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-28-2012, 06:13 PM   #1
SmellyGoatBoy OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 86
Long fire road near Seattle

I'm looking a nice long dirt ride for tomorrow. It needs to be pretty easy as I want to ride it on my Ural with dog in hack. Any ideas? I'm new to the off road game, and don't know my way around the fire road system. I went up and played a little off exit 34 and 38 today. The roads were short or too rocky/difficult for my liking.
Old 09-28-2012, 10:27 PM   #2
Mr. Cob
Howling "Mad", Adventurer

Oddometer: 9,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmellyGoatBoy View Post
I'm looking a nice long dirt ride for tomorrow. It needs to be pretty easy as I want to ride it on my Ural with dog in hack. Any ideas? I'm new to the off road game, and don't know my way around the fire road system. I went up and played a little off exit 34 and 38 today. The roads were short or too rocky/difficult for my liking.
Howdy SGB,

How many miles of paved road do you want to cover to get there? Forest Service Roads 17 and 18 go from Hwy 530, go over a mountain ridge and come out on South Skagit River Road, a distance of about 40 plus miles, if the weather is good LOTS of great photo ops. This is a good FSR, easy to do even if its wet, its all gravel, lots of elevation change and like I said if the weather permits it GREAT views. PM me if your in the area and want to do this.

This photo shows how to get to 18 from Hwy 530, this is a few miles west of Darrington.

This shows how to get to 17 from 18.

This shows how 17 dumps onto Finny Creek Road which will join South Skagit River Road.

My photos, http://mr-cob.smugmug.com/ Help a CHEAP bastard keep his Smugmug, use this coupon ( geyYbNZwLLrl6 ) thank you.
Mr. Cob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 02:26 AM   #3
BeeMaa
Hack Pilot

Oddometer: 1,092
SGB - If you have the chance to ride with Dave, take it. You will have a blast.