User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-30-2012, 08:35 PM   #1
MILLENNIUM FALCON OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 243
The Xt400 side car (winter project)

Well Its fall and I cant afford to build another bike this year so I am doing the next best thing. I am building a side car for my xt400 project. At least that is the plan. I am totally new to side cars so this could be interesting. I hope that with the help of some very knowledgeable DTT members I will be able to make this happen. My plan is to use parts I have laying around to build most of it. I would like to build a subframe that will bolt on my bike so the side car can be easily removed If I need to. I am planning on using the swing arm and [u]front[u] wheel off of an xs400 I have for the suspension. The front wheel is an 18 and it has a disc brake I would like to use for the car. It is also not as wide as the rear. From what I have seen/read narrow is better for the car, especially with small cc bikes. I turned down the rear axle on the lathe so it would work with the front wheel. I also had to make some wheel spacers. I still need to make a caliper mount for the swing arm. This project is in the very early stages so any motivation/inspiration is appreciated. Here is a picture of the bike and wheel. This is all I have so far. Ive done more goggling and reading than actual work so far.

MILLENNIUM FALCON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:39 PM   #2
norton(kel)
vintage

Oddometer: 1,011
Subscribed

I'am in! Looking to build a utility rig for my xr500, I'll be following and watching for Ideas.
norton(kel) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 08:36 AM   #3
MILLENNIUM FALCON OP
Gnarly Adventurer

I've been really busy but I am workin on a design and materials list. I hope to start melting wire soon.
Old 10-04-2012, 09:52 AM   #4
MotoJ
Mobtown Hacker

Oddometer: 1,173
Subscribed!