ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 04-13-2011, 12:45 PM   #1
Aidan1150 OP
Call Me The Breeze
 
Aidan1150's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: South Armagh, Ireland
Oddometer: 271
Inside a Garmin Streetpilot 2720

My trusty 2720 started acting up on Sunday and even after a master reset the problem was still there. Turn on and go though boot-up and it prompts for screen calibration. That's obviously not normal. Pressing the screen as instructed gives a cross hair but it continues to ask for screen presses, seems stuck in a loop.

As the unit is no longer supported by Garmin I decided I had nothing to lose by taking it apart to see if I could fix it myself.



I set the GPS on a tea towel to stop it skidding about on the table and damaging itself.

There are 7 screws in the back of the unit.



With all the screws removed hinge the adjustable bracket back out of the way



Gently split the unit open and this is what you see inside



Carefully lift the antennae and little silver plate up and back out of the way



There are three little screws holding the green circuit board in place and a further four around the edge of the electronics. With hindsight I didn't actually need to remove the circuit board, I could have just loosened the four screws around the side and lifted the innards all out.



Be very careful not to damage the little wires and ribbons which link the various elements



And clean the screen, rubber seal and the inside of the outer shell of the GPS. There was some dust and dirt around the seal and the screen some of it quite gritty.



Set the innards back into the shell and be gentle with the antenna.



All back together again and ready to be closed up. Tighten the srews in the shell as tightly as you can without damaging them



My 2720 is now back working again so the spare 2610 I have can go back into it's box again. :)

It's a very simple job to do yourself and may well save you the price of a costly repair.
__________________
2001 - R1150GS

From Sea to Shining Sea. A four week US coast to coast ride in June/July 2010. http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...hlight=shining


Don't speak unless you can improve on the silence.
Aidan1150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 02:54 PM   #2
Hootowl
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Bend Oregon
Oddometer: 1,248
Thanks for the photo's and write up.
I may have to open mine up some day and this showed me that its not difficult.
What did you repair?

Richard
__________________
Keep it Wild, Keep it Free

'07 990A
Parting '98 1100GS. Need Anything?
Hootowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 01:00 PM   #3
rpminmn
n00b
 
Joined: May 2009
Oddometer: 4
thanks!

Do you know if the touch screen can be easily replaced by a commodity part?
If so, any ideas where the part can be purchased?

-bob
rpminmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 08:32 AM   #4
iangough
n00b
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Oddometer: 1
Hi, I have two bmw navigator II's. One with v9 maps on and the other with v7 on it. The V7 one is in better condition - outer casing and screen), so I was thinking of taking the v9 internals out and inserting it into the less worn out V7 item.
Thanks for this, as mentioned in a previous post, it gives re-assurance to those who have 'something to loose'.

Note: I cannot upgrade the v7 to v9 maps as I don't have the unlock codes and garmin don't give them out any more :-(
iangough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 09:09 AM   #5
littlefield
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: SE Texas
Oddometer: 118
I've seen digitizing screens for Streetpilots on ebay.
littlefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 04:26 PM   #6
MSrider
Rebel with a sixfiddy
 
MSrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Florence, Mizzippi
Oddometer: 4,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by iangough View Post
Hi, I have two bmw navigator II's. One with v9 maps on and the other with v7 on it. The V7 one is in better condition - outer casing and screen), so I was thinking of taking the v9 internals out and inserting it into the less worn out V7 item.
Thanks for this, as mentioned in a previous post, it gives re-assurance to those who have 'something to loose'.

Note: I cannot upgrade the v7 to v9 maps as I don't have the unlock codes and garmin don't give them out any more :-(
I'm in the same boat. That sucks too. Working on that right now.
__________________
KOKA
MSrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 01:32 PM   #7
eddie98
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: WOODSTOCK, GA
Oddometer: 632
Mine just started doing the same thing. Going to try your fix.
__________________
09 DL 650,08 WR250R
09 KLX250S(gone), 03 R6 (gone)
04 WR 450(gone), 01 EX 250(gone),
06 DL 650(gone) , 89 KLR 650(gone)
eddie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 07:05 PM   #8
Powershouse
Beastly Adventurer
 
Powershouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Minn-knee-sooo-taaa
Oddometer: 2,172
I just replaced the digitizer screen that delaminated on my Streetpilot. Bought the replacement screen on ebay and it was a pretty straightforward job with using your pictures as a guide.
__________________
Wisconsin Rustic Road Century
Powershouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 12:20 PM   #9
beewill
Gnarly Adventurer
 
beewill's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsboro, IN.
Oddometer: 127
This Works

I know the OP was a few years ago, but I was having the same trouble and this fix really does solve the issue. I always like to bump the helpful posts incase someone comes across this problem again in the future.

Also, those of you who still use the Street Pilots, I would go ahead and do this now before you get stuck many miles from homes when this starts to happen. I was in Arkansas when mine went down and I live in Central Indiana.
__________________
2004 KTM 950 Adventure

A bore is someone who deprives you of solitude without providing you with company.
― Oscar Wilde
beewill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:56 AM   #10
Powershouse
Beastly Adventurer
 
Powershouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Minn-knee-sooo-taaa
Oddometer: 2,172
Ill ad that it is important to remove ALL of the old adhesive. The first time I did this job I must have left a bit and it caused my new digitizer to crack when I tightened the shell back together. A little Goo B Gone on a cloth does the job.
__________________
Wisconsin Rustic Road Century
Powershouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014