ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-19-2005, 05:40 PM   #1
autorotate OP
Adventurer
 
autorotate's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: El Paso
Oddometer: 64
Garmin 376C

Didn't see this posted anywhere in here yet. Who is first to get one?

http://www.garmin.com/products/gpsmap376c/
autorotate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 05:42 PM   #2
wickedsprint
Banned
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Oddometer: 2,386
OMG that is the cats ass.
wickedsprint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 05:51 PM   #3
bmwhd
God Bless Texas
 
bmwhd's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Oddometer: 1,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedsprint
OMG that is the cats ass.
Well, there it is. After 18 months of speculating and wishing! tvnav.com here I come!
__________________
Todd R.

'78 R80/7
'06 FJR1300A

"Gentlemen, gentlemen, be of good cheer, for they are out there and we are in here!" - Robert Culp, attributed by Hugh Hefner as the official slogan of the Playboy Mansion
bmwhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 05:51 PM   #4
autorotate OP
Adventurer
 
autorotate's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: El Paso
Oddometer: 64
I would have to agree......BUT

Garmin needs to deep six that proprietary memory format. If it had SD or CF I'd be willing to bet they couldn't make enough of them.

Overkill for a bike, yes.......but sweet for sure. Just my opinion of course.
autorotate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 07:41 PM   #5
edwyun
Gnarly Adventurer
 
edwyun's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Oddometer: 149
wonder if you can upgrade your/my 276C to these specs?
__________________
Ride Safe,
Edward
'72 Ducati 750GT
'98 Ducati 900 SS/FE
IBA#18798
www.geocities.com/edwyun/index.html
edwyun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 07:48 PM   #6
MattS
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MattS's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: NJ
Oddometer: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by autorotate
Garmin needs to deep six that proprietary memory format.
They retain it for their preprogrammed marine charts ... and there's quite the market for those (much larger than the motorcycle market).
MattS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 08:00 PM   #7
CMWoody
Banned
 
CMWoody's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Hooterville, NC
Oddometer: 5,248
Sheeze, new 2720 has traffic not wx, new 376 the other way around... WhoTF is in charge over there?
CMWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 08:48 PM   #8
edwyun
Gnarly Adventurer
 
edwyun's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Oddometer: 149
I'd think they don't want sales from the 2720 to take away from sales from the 376 and visa versa.

Plus, while riders use the 276 for roads, it technically is a marine unit - don't need traffic on a marine unit =)
__________________
Ride Safe,
Edward
'72 Ducati 750GT
'98 Ducati 900 SS/FE
IBA#18798
www.geocities.com/edwyun/index.html
edwyun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 09:17 PM   #9
wickedsprint
Banned
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Oddometer: 2,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by autorotate

Overkill for a bike, yes.......but sweet for sure. Just my opinion of course.
Maybe not, it might actually have a niche for us bikers, I am more worried about storms on the bike than say in my truck...so for that I could see justifying the weather while on an adventure ride, especially in the mountains...I can't really justify it myself though since I already spent 699 on my 96C and I already have a V for the bike/truck.
wickedsprint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 10:35 PM   #10
highermath
code wrangler
 
highermath's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Sunny Southern California
Oddometer: 286
I would be a lot more excited about this if they had ditched their expensive and limited proprietary data card format.
highermath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 04:48 AM   #11
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,323
Yup, pretty cool, but over 800 bills and they still have that same data cartridge - I was hoping for better.
__________________

PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 04:54 AM   #12
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
The XM radio is worth nothing outside the US

..... and the ongoing use of that small, expensive, proprietary memory card is just Garmins joke

Upgrade of the GPSmap 276C? No

BurnieM screwed with this post 07-20-2005 at 05:05 AM
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 04:55 AM   #13
Steverino
Arrogant Horse's Ass #1
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Oddometer: 36,667
I can live with the card...that may be my next gizmo and get rid of those fucking POS Roady's
__________________

Steverino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 05:31 AM   #14
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,323
Here are a couple other things to remember, that I don't have answers to, but will try to find out.

First, XM weather, it ain't cheap, $100 activation and $99 a month. Also, they specify that the 376C won't give you tunes and wx unless you use the special GXM 30 antenna and they also provide an extention cables yada yada as a part of the kit, so before I were to jump on this would want to see one and figure out what the deal is and how to mount it on a bike.

And the worst part, the "optional" automotive kit - it doesn't come with City Select even so add some more $$ to it
__________________

PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 05:43 AM   #15
Steverino
Arrogant Horse's Ass #1
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Oddometer: 36,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSpace
Here are a couple other things to remember, that I don't have answers to, but will try to find out.

First, XM weather, it ain't cheap, $100 activation and $99 a month. Also, they specify that the 376C won't give you tunes and wx unless you use the special GXM 30 antenna and they also provide an extention cables yada yada as a part of the kit, so before I were to jump on this would want to see one and figure out what the deal is and how to mount it on a bike.

And the worst part, the "optional" automotive kit - it doesn't come with City Select even so add some more $$ to it
So?






__________________

Steverino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014