Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-04-2012, 11:43 AM   #1
bobfab OP
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,338
Swap Lifan 50cc into Trail 90 (CT90)

Hey guys,

I am new to this whole scooter thing, but i am looking for some input on this. My girl and I are taking on refurbishing a early 70's CT90 with a siezed motor for the winter. I am debating what motor we are going to be swapping in there, but for a while now i have had the hankering to put in a Lifan motor with electric start and 12v . My question is, what size motor should i put in there?

My initial reaction was to swap in the most powerful plentiful motor via 150,140 or 110cc but lately i have been thinking about a 50cc motor, however it seems counter intuitive to swap in a less powerful or smaller motor.

We are in CO and here scoots under 50cc do not need insurance, registration, can ride bike trails and can park on sidewalk. So there are some inherent governmental advantages to having a 50cc mill. I, for one, am skeptical that any LEO's would take the time to read the cc's on the motor.

What would you swap in?

Sidenote: i have a myriad of other 2 wheeled machines in higher displacements, i am looking to build this little bike as a learning experience for my girlfriend and a good Boulder knock around.
Old 10-04-2012, 11:55 AM   #2
hugemoth
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,754
50cc is going to be really gutless but if that's all she needs then why not? My preference would be for the electric start 125 auto clutch.

BTW the only place on the engine that indicates displacement is a little raised part on one of the cylinder fins. This could easily ground off with an angle grinder then painted over with BBQ paint.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobfab View Post
Hey guys,