ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2012, 07:18 PM   #1
skidxr OP
Excuses
 
skidxr's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Oddometer: 364
Headlight Trigger Switch

I want to replace the momentary trigger switch that activates the high beam on my 990 ADV with an on/off switch. So I can trigger it and have the high and low beam stay on without holding the switch down.

Has anyone already done this? If so, what switch did you use?

Thanks...
__________________
...
skidxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 07:39 PM   #2
spafxer
Beastly Adventurer
 
spafxer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Oddometer: 2,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by skidxr View Post
I want to replace the momentary trigger switch that activates the high beam on my 990 ADV with an on/off switch. So I can trigger it and have the high and low beam stay on without holding the switch down.

Has anyone already done this? If so, what switch did you use?

Thanks...

What's that rocker switch do right behind it ?
spafxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:56 PM   #3
skidxr OP
Excuses
 
skidxr's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Oddometer: 364
Behind the rocker is a spring and 2 contacts. When you press the rocker switch it compresses a spring and closes the gap between the contacts. I would like it to be a button you press to turn on and press to turn off. But I would like it to look factory so I'm wondering if anyone has found a nice switch that fits in the factory hole.
__________________
...
skidxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:37 PM   #4
crofrog
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Oddometer: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by skidxr View Post
Behind the rocker is a spring and 2 contacts. When you press the rocker switch it compresses a spring and closes the gap between the contacts. I would like it to be a button you press to turn on and press to turn off. But I would like it to look factory so I'm wondering if anyone has found a nice switch that fits in the factory hole.
I think he's asking, wtf is wrong with just using the rocker?
crofrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:42 PM   #5
skidxr OP
Excuses
 
skidxr's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Oddometer: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by crofrog View Post
I think he's asking, wtf is wrong with just using the rocker?

So I can trigger it and have the high and low beam stay on without holding the switch down.
__________________
...
skidxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:51 AM   #6
spafxer
Beastly Adventurer
 
spafxer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Oddometer: 2,492
Well since I have to ask, maybe I just don't get it....

When I pull the "trigger" I can flash the high beam (usually in conjunction with the horn button) to tell some offending cager he's trying to kill me..

I've driven in Europe and I think this "trigger" to flash the high beam is a polite way of asking a slower driver to move over so I can safely pass. Works pretty damn well too. Americans mostly go road rage if you try that here.

If I want the high and low beam to "stay on" I just move the rocker switch to high beam.... Of course I do have the Euro headlight with seperate hi/lo bulbs.

So, you've said hi/lo staying on twice and we stiil don't understand why. The bike has that capabilty already.

What you are asking for is the momentary switch to trigger a latching relay. Or changing the momentary switch to a single throw switch. Possible, but why?

Just trying to understand.
spafxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:37 AM   #7
jclark83
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jclark83's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Kentucky
Oddometer: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by skidxr View Post
I want to replace the momentary trigger switch that activates the high beam on my 990 ADV with an on/off switch. So I can trigger it and have the high and low beam stay on without holding the switch down.

Has anyone already done this? If so, what switch did you use?

Thanks...
Will the stock wiring harness and relay set-up handle the extra load of continuously running both sides of the bulb? You may be inviting a wiring harness failure.
__________________
2002 Bmw R1150GS
2005 Ktm 950 Adventure
2008 Bmw K1200LT
jclark83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 09:52 AM   #8
Motomedic
Beastly Adventurer
 
Motomedic's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Spokane
Oddometer: 2,278
Having the Hi and Lo beams on at the same time would equate to 115 watts of light coming out. I've upgraded everything behind the bulb and run a 85/110 watt bulb, so yes the charging system will handle it (14.2 volts when it's on high beam, 14.4-5 without).

Use a relay kit to supply full voltage to the lights with larger wires, use the stock headlight wires to control it all, install a higher wattage bulb and off ya go. You can buy a 55/100 watt bulb if you want to retain a "legal" lo beam yet have more light at night. Much easier than trying to wire in a latching relay to add the hi beam occasionally.

My flash-to-pass is hooked to a latching relay controlling my auxiliary lights, incidentally.
__________________
Feike

I don't have to agree with you to like you or respect you. -Anthony Bourdain
Motomedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:01 PM   #9
MortimerSickle
Semi-Adventurer
 
MortimerSickle's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Rainville, Orygun, where moss is a road hazard.
Oddometer: 11,335
Will a two filament bulb stand the heat generated by running both elements at the same time?
__________________


I miss round headlights.

"When I was a young man, I liked to race my horse...." -
G.H.W.S. 1878-1962
MortimerSickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:06 PM   #10
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,555
Maybe this would interest you...

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=753160
__________________
There is always a reason!!
Fuel filters Fuel pump
Aluminum base plate for ITG foam air filter
Clutch master cylinder resleeving
Out of office April 18 to 27
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:26 PM   #11
GrenDesb
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Québec
Oddometer: 288
I'd wire a relay that is triggered by the high beam and would light up the low beam.

This way, when on the high beam, you would have both lit up and you're sure not to surcharge the switch or anything and it's really simple to wire up.

I'm sure an H4 bulb will survive having both filament lit as I've been running it this way on my daily driver. Only potential problem I see is the reflector which may suffer but anyways, you don't stay parked on the high beam all night, when you run on the high beam, the headlight is in the wind.
GrenDesb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:20 PM   #12
Qwik
Two Wheeled Addict
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Oddometer: 5,824
Get the Euro Headlight and not have to worry about it. They are both on when in the High Beam mode.
__________________
Speed bumps never seem to make me go any faster
Qwik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:18 PM   #13
Peanuts
Beastly Adventurer
 
Peanuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,301
Wire the low beam to the rear light wiring, it's there on the light switch/loom plug :)
Simple!

Peanuts screwed with this post 11-17-2012 at 03:13 AM
Peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:05 PM   #14
skidxr OP
Excuses
 
skidxr's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Oddometer: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peanuts View Post
Wire the low beam to the rear light wiring, it's there on the light switch/loom plug :)
Simple!



That's
A good idea.. Thanks To all of you for the help.
__________________
...
skidxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 01:52 AM   #15
Sacal
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Sacal's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: London, England
Oddometer: 127
Clean install with one of these and you get to keep the stock switch and functionality...

http://www.autoswitch.com/as7.php
__________________
ad astra per alia porci
Sacal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014