ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 06:30 PM   #1
Midlife OP
HalFassed
 
Midlife's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canton GA
Oddometer: 69
One more easy one for the 12v Gurus

Had a fun farkling day over the weekend.....new rigid lights, heated grips and fuze blocks....nice setup.

Here's my simpleton question: I wired the lights through the 3 pole switch that came with the harness to the fuze blocs box. I put it on the flat above the gauges on my 990a. Nice because it has an LED that indicates "on". Downside is its not on the bars for easy access (too big). Picked up a nice waterproof small switch...two pole push button . Can I somehow wire it as a remote switch....using the other for a master?

Thanks Much!

Steve
__________________
STILL fun after all these years! Thanks GOD!

2008 KTM 990 Adventure, and a bunch of dream bikes in my head.
Midlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 06:59 PM   #2
EOD3MC
What will break next
 
EOD3MC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Colonial Beach VA
Oddometer: 4,559
If your 2-pole push button is simply a make/brake switch, wiring it in series with the power lead should work I would think, but you would need to pay attention to the amperage ratings.
EOD3MC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:49 AM   #3
Midlife OP
HalFassed
 
Midlife's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canton GA
Oddometer: 69
Thanks - good solution!

Quote:
Originally Posted by EOD3MC View Post
If your 2-pole push button is simply a make/brake switch, wiring it in series with the power lead should work I would think, but you would need to pay attention to the amperage ratings.
Thanks for the confirmation - I will use the switch (trail tech - rated for 10 amps) to interrupt the 12V supply (or maybe ground for an "immediate" cut off) just before the fuzeblocks. Tested it on the 12v side - works great - now I have an "indicator" on the original LED switch - as well as a master power switch, and this little pushbutton near my left thumb for a remote switch)

For anyone else who may need small waterproof switch - the trailtech unit installs with a 3/8 inch hole - very small enclosed box - cool unit....7 bucks. (and for the D.O.G's....Andrew at ACME Rider Supply carries them)

http://www.trailtech.net/040-LS-B.html
__________________
STILL fun after all these years! Thanks GOD!

2008 KTM 990 Adventure, and a bunch of dream bikes in my head.
Midlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014