ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Road warriors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2012, 01:12 PM   #1
GmanVic OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
GmanVic's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Victoria, BC, Lotusland
Oddometer: 154
BMW R850R RID Install?

Hey does anyone know how hard it is to install a RID (Rider's Information Display) on a 1996 R850R that didn't have it installed at the factory? I guess it would be too easy to be true that the various sensors (gear indicator, oil temp, fuel level) would be in place and it's just missing the LCD display device?

(A friend of mine just bought a cherry R850R for his wife and I let slip that "it sure would be nice if it had the RID" - oops!)
GmanVic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 02:30 PM   #2
hitmanh
Gnarly Adventurer
 
hitmanh's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Oddometer: 144
hmm, good question. Lift the tank and see if the socket is present. There are different part numbers for the main wiring loom between the GS and the R so the socket may not be present.
__________________
BMW 850R
BMW K100 naked
BMW F800GSA T

hitmanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 02:44 PM   #3
hitmanh
Gnarly Adventurer
 
hitmanh's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Oddometer: 144
Far as I can see, only the GS and RT came with a RID. Not sure if the R is fitted with a gear position indicator or a neutral only indicator switch.
__________________
BMW 850R
BMW K100 naked
BMW F800GSA T

hitmanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 10:11 PM   #4
GmanVic OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
GmanVic's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Victoria, BC, Lotusland
Oddometer: 154
Thank you hitmanh!
GmanVic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:31 PM   #5
ramon
weezin' the juice!
 
ramon's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: California
Oddometer: 1,095
It's not a cheap upgrade. I too thought, all you needed was the display. Wrong! You need the wiring too. Not too expensive, but more expensive than it should be. I'd hit eBay and hope for the best
__________________
"...if you don't like the price then move on because I don't give a shit...it's my bike and I will sell it for whatever I want." Craigslist SF posting
ramon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 03:15 PM   #6
acejones
Beastly Adventurer
 
acejones's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: MS. Gulf Coast
Oddometer: 4,719
I wouldn't add it even if you could. The information is not as legible as analog instruments and it'll probably fail anyway. The Germans aren't real handy with electrons.
__________________
I got tired of being here, so now I'm there
acejones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014