ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Ask Baldy, blame AceRph
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2012, 09:09 PM   #1
Dirtnadvil OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Dirtnadvil's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Inside the Orange Curtain
Oddometer: 796
Need a bit of help

Having trouble posting a pic. I am using Smugmug and following the steps outlined on page one. Any hints for me?
Thanks in advance......John
Dirtnadvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:14 PM   #2
Russ
.
 
Russ's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Oddometer: 15,586
Copy the Image address not the image itself and past that into the popup box when you click on the mountain icon.
Give that a try.
Russ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:17 PM   #3
Craneguy
British Hooligan
 
Craneguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Riyadh, KSA, Cuernavaca, Mx, Houston, Tx
Oddometer: 1,039
Look for the link that starts "IMG"

Copy and paste directly into your post.
__________________
Young enough to think I can. Old enough to know I shouldn't. Stupid enough to do it anyway
'13 Duc Multi GT, '10 Vstrom 1k, '10 705cc KLR
Craneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:05 PM   #4
SpeedySapper
Adventurer
 
SpeedySapper's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Oddometer: 21
To upload a photo is it necessary to use smug mug, or can photos be added directly from my PC? Sorry for being such a noob!
SpeedySapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:20 PM   #5
Dirtnadvil OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Dirtnadvil's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Inside the Orange Curtain
Oddometer: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by SYDADVGS View Post
Copy the Image address not the image itself and past that into the popup box when you click on the mountain icon.
Give that a try.
Thanks for replying to my question. I have been trying that without success. I must be doing something basic wrong....
Dirtnadvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:23 PM   #6
Dirtnadvil OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Dirtnadvil's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Inside the Orange Curtain
Oddometer: 796
This what the link that I am trying to post looks like. http://dirtnadvil.smugmug.com/Trucks...9241&k=bXR9tw2 I don't see IMG anywhere in the link..
Dirtnadvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:29 PM   #7
Dirtnadvil OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Dirtnadvil's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Inside the Orange Curtain
Oddometer: 796
Dirtnadvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:35 PM   #8
Russ
.
 
Russ's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Oddometer: 15,586
Your link above needs a password.


Open the Pic in smugmug and click on it to get the drop down menu.
1.


2.


3.Paste your image address


4.


That should do it-- preview post first.
Russ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:48 PM   #9
Craneguy
British Hooligan
 
Craneguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Riyadh, KSA, Cuernavaca, Mx, Houston, Tx
Oddometer: 1,039
I had to open a Smugmug account to test this.

I use Photobucket which gives you a choice of link types (and is free). You're right, SM doesn't give you an IMG link choice.



The mountain icon here makes the link from Smugmug into an IMG link for you. Hit the icon, right click on the blue highlighted HTTP:// and paste your link into the window that pops up. Make sure you replace the HTTP:// that is already there.

Click icon
Paste link (replace text already there)
Click OK
Finish post and preview. If it doesn't work you're doing something else wrong.



Hope it works. If you go back to your post above, I'm willing to bet that you have two HTTP's on the front of the link...

EDIT. SYSADVGS beat me to it. At least you can now see how it looks in Mac and Windows format!
__________________
Young enough to think I can. Old enough to know I shouldn't. Stupid enough to do it anyway
'13 Duc Multi GT, '10 Vstrom 1k, '10 705cc KLR
Craneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:48 PM   #10
Dirtnadvil OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Dirtnadvil's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Inside the Orange Curtain
Oddometer: 796
I am not sure what you mean by "password". When I click on the picture in Smugmug I get the usual drop down menu Open link, print picture,copy, paste, ect. I must be doing something wrong here. Keep trying to help me though, I truly appreciate it, I have 9 years of pictures to post....
Dirtnadvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:51 PM   #11
Dirtnadvil OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Dirtnadvil's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Inside the Orange Curtain
Oddometer: 796
This is what I have been doing, it's just not working. I must have a setting wrong......
Dirtnadvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:53 PM   #12
Dirtnadvil OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Dirtnadvil's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Inside the Orange Curtain
Oddometer: 796
Trying it again.
Dirtnadvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:53 PM   #13
Craneguy
British Hooligan
 
Craneguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Riyadh, KSA, Cuernavaca, Mx, Houston, Tx
Oddometer: 1,039
You need to look at the example we both posted. You cannot just paste the link into your post, you have to hit the little icon that my first arrow points to, then paste your link there.
__________________
Young enough to think I can. Old enough to know I shouldn't. Stupid enough to do it anyway
'13 Duc Multi GT, '10 Vstrom 1k, '10 705cc KLR
Craneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 11:00 PM   #14
Dirtnadvil OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Dirtnadvil's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Inside the Orange Curtain
Oddometer: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craneguy View Post
You need to look at the example we both posted. You cannot just paste the link into your post, you have to hit the little icon that my first arrow points to, then paste your link there.
I am hitting the icon first, then I delete the HTTP// that is in the box, next I paste my URL from Smugmug and hit OK. I am using a Windows computer if that makes a difference.
Dirtnadvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 11:10 PM   #15
Dirtnadvil OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Dirtnadvil's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Inside the Orange Curtain
Oddometer: 796
from the top of the page
Dirtnadvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014