ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2014, 06:13 PM   #706
Off Road Ryder OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Off Road Ryder's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Kent Wa
Oddometer: 2,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by cba191 View Post
just got the lights today. Hopefully, I'll be able to mount them up this weekend. They are definitely beefy.
thank you.
Thanks
I cant wait to see your setup. You wont be breaking these lights.
__________________
When Quality matters,Its all about choices.
Cyclops Performance LED Vendors thread
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=839163
www.cyclopsadventuresports.com
1-800-624-0278
Off Road Ryder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 07:07 PM   #707
kag
Wander Lust
 
kag's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Kansas
Oddometer: 1,340
I really like those 10 degree. I will have to look at your website for a pair on my new 1190. Need to also source the crash bar mount shown as I like them.
__________________
“Always drink upstream from the herd”

2007 Yamaha TW 200 / 2008 Buell Ulysses
2013 Triumph Tiger 800r / 2014 KTM 1190 EDS
kag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 08:33 PM   #708
cba191
wanna buy a monkey?
 
cba191's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, UT
Oddometer: 688
the mounts look like the ones he sells. That's what I got for mine.
cba191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 08:46 PM   #709
Off Road Ryder OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Off Road Ryder's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Kent Wa
Oddometer: 2,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by kag View Post
I really like those 10 degree. I will have to look at your website for a pair on my new 1190. Need to also source the crash bar mount shown as I like them.
Congratulations on the new bike!
Here is a link to the mounts.
Thanks!
http://www.cyclopsadventuresports.co...ches_p_55.html
Manufactured by Techmount.
__________________
When Quality matters,Its all about choices.
Cyclops Performance LED Vendors thread
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=839163
www.cyclopsadventuresports.com
1-800-624-0278
Off Road Ryder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 06:13 AM   #710
ChrisK7
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ChrisK7's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Stanfield, Oregon 97875
Oddometer: 241
I finally got a chance to get mine all mounted up and tried them at night. WOW, what a light. I have the 10 degree lights and I am totally blown away at how much light they shoot out there.
Guy's the pictures shown above do not do these light justice. The pictures only show the strongest part of the beam and do not show the rest of the light that is lighting up the sides as well.
Just what I was looking for in a light. I would say they are a true 100 mph light at night.

I tied mine into the high beam so when the switch is on I can just use my high beams to turn on the lights for quick one switch operation when on roads with traffic.

And to be clear, in the pics I posted above, the mounts that I have are NOT the ones that Cyclops sells. They are a cheaper brand that while look the same are not the same quality. The ones I used required me to make an aluminum shim in addition to the already supplied shims to fit the bars right.
I got them to work ok but for the couple bucks more just buy from Cyclops and be done with it.
Very very happy with the lights, service, and quality.
Thanks again.
__________________
'14 KTM Adventure 1190R 12 KTM 990 SMT ,09 KTM 530 EXC (plated), 09 Kawasaki Brute Force 750
ChrisK7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:43 AM   #711
Off Road Ryder OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Off Road Ryder's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Kent Wa
Oddometer: 2,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisK7 View Post
I finally got a chance to get mine all mounted up and tried them at night. WOW, what a light. I have the 10 degree lights and I am totally blown away at how much light they shoot out there.
Guy's the pictures shown above do not do these light justice. The pictures only show the strongest part of the beam and do not show the rest of the light that is lighting up the sides as well.
Just what I was looking for in a light. I would say they are a true 100 mph light at night.

I tied mine into the high beam so when the switch is on I can just use my high beams to turn on the lights for quick one switch operation when on roads with traffic.

And to be clear, in the pics I posted above, the mounts that I have are NOT the ones that Cyclops sells. They are a cheaper brand that while look the same are not the same quality. The ones I used required me to make an aluminum shim in addition to the already supplied shims to fit the bars right.
I got them to work ok but for the couple bucks more just buy from Cyclops and be done with it.
Very very happy with the lights, service, and quality.
Thanks again.
Thank you Sir Very much appreciated!
The camera will never pickup all the peripheral light that the lights put out. I also prefer the 10 degree lights.

Why sacrifice quality and output for a few dollars. Buy quality and buy once.
__________________
When Quality matters,Its all about choices.
Cyclops Performance LED Vendors thread
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=839163
www.cyclopsadventuresports.com
1-800-624-0278
Off Road Ryder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 11:40 AM   #712
Off Road Ryder OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Off Road Ryder's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Kent Wa
Oddometer: 2,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRod152 View Post
LR Extreme dual LED race light ordered today.

Can't wait to get them installed on the SE... no more worthless stock lighting! I'll post the setup & thoughts when I get them installed.

Cheers.
Thank you. You will love the New Race light with the colored and wide angle covers.
__________________
When Quality matters,Its all about choices.
Cyclops Performance LED Vendors thread
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=839163
www.cyclopsadventuresports.com
1-800-624-0278
Off Road Ryder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 01:41 PM   #713
CHRIS_D
Studly Adventurer
 
CHRIS_D's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Southside of ATL, GA
Oddometer: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisK7 View Post
I received my round 10 degree lights and got them mounted up with the crash bar mounts I already had.
I don't know if I like the mounts all that much. A little on the delicate side for those lights I think. Plus I wish they were a little higher up like the ones on my SMT in the background in the pictures.
The lights themselves are freaken awesome. I haven't wired them into the bike yet but I did hook them to a car battery and light up the neighborhood.
Outstanding light, service, and build quality.
Very happy with the lights, quick shipping, and excellent communication.
I may have to fire up the milling machine and build my own light mounts for this bike if I can't find any others that I like.
Thanks again for the excellent service and product.


Looks good!

Did you wire in with the high beam option or use the switch? Just curious since our bikes are now using can bus.
__________________
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2011 Victory Cross Country
CHRIS_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 01:48 PM   #714
ChrisK7
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ChrisK7's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Stanfield, Oregon 97875
Oddometer: 241
I used both. I wired the switch to the blue wire on the headlights hi beam.
so basically the switch arms them and I use the high beam switch to turn them on and off with the headlights . no problem so far.
__________________
'14 KTM Adventure 1190R 12 KTM 990 SMT ,09 KTM 530 EXC (plated), 09 Kawasaki Brute Force 750
ChrisK7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 02:07 PM   #715
CHRIS_D
Studly Adventurer
 
CHRIS_D's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Southside of ATL, GA
Oddometer: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisK7 View Post
I used both. I wired the switch to the blue wire on the headlights hi beam.
so basically the switch arms them and I use the high beam switch to turn them on and off with the headlights . no problem so far.
Thanks!
__________________
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2011 Victory Cross Country
CHRIS_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 02:20 PM   #716
squadraquota
mostly harmless
 
squadraquota's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Lowlands
Oddometer: 73
question about wiring, dimmer and light switch

Hi Darryl,

I am very interested in a pair of your led aux lights for my 990 adv

Have a question about the wiring and switching. I am thinking of getting the kTM euro light switch (see http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=894074)
because i dont want to add stuff to the handle bars.
With this switch combined with the skene dimmer, am I correct to think I can use one position for dimmed use of the lights and the second position for 100% power?
If so, is it indeed the Skene dimmer I need? And the skene wiring harness?

thanks,
squadraquota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 03:55 PM   #717
Off Road Ryder OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Off Road Ryder's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Kent Wa
Oddometer: 2,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by squadraquota View Post
Hi Darryl,

I am very interested in a pair of your led aux lights for my 990 adv

Have a question about the wiring and switching. I am thinking of getting the kTM euro light switch (see http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=894074)
because i dont want to add stuff to the handle bars.
With this switch combined with the skene dimmer, am I correct to think I can use one position for dimmed use of the lights and the second position for 100% power?
If so, is it indeed the Skene dimmer I need? And the skene wiring harness?

thanks,
Hi squadraquota
Thanks for asking
I have to admit that I am not very familiar with the KTM Euro switch.
That being said it should work, but so will your stock switches without putting anything extra on the bars.
You would want the skene dimmer with harness and no handle bar mounted switch.
That setup will allow you to run the LED aux lights via the stock controls, the factory high beam switch will activate the LEDs dimming functions.
You can adjust the dimming from 0 to 100%
Alternatively the Cyclops handle bar mounted switch can be used to keep your aux lights independent of the high beams, or I should say allow you to turn them completely off., I think that's what the euro switch would also allow you to do.
__________________
When Quality matters,Its all about choices.
Cyclops Performance LED Vendors thread
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=839163
www.cyclopsadventuresports.com
1-800-624-0278
Off Road Ryder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 09:13 AM   #718
squadraquota
mostly harmless
 
squadraquota's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Lowlands
Oddometer: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Off Road Ryder View Post
Hi squadraquota
Thanks for asking
I have to admit that I am not very familiar with the KTM Euro switch.
That being said it should work, but so will your stock switches without putting anything extra on the bars.
You would want the skene dimmer with harness and no handle bar mounted switch.
That setup will allow you to run the LED aux lights via the stock controls, the factory high beam switch will activate the LEDs dimming functions.
You can adjust the dimming from 0 to 100%
Alternatively the Cyclops handle bar mounted switch can be used to keep your aux lights independent of the high beams, or I should say allow you to turn them completely off., I think that's what the euro switch would also allow you to do.
Thanks Darryl for the quick reply.

Yes, i understood from this thread that i can switch the aux leds by the high beam switch. But i prefer to be able to operate them independently. And without an extra switch on the bar.

So, the Skene harness it must be.…do i need extra relays for the leds?

Btw i appreciate the opportunity for inquiries through this forum, very informative and confidence inspiring. And kudos for the 24h race you did, great stuff to watch!
squadraquota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 10:13 AM   #719
Off Road Ryder OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Off Road Ryder's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Kent Wa
Oddometer: 2,274
With the skene dimmer no relays are required.
We have now moved all our dimmers to the skene , Ill clean up this thread as much as possible asap.
To set them up as you describe you would need some type of switch, If you don't want a separate switch on the bars, that may be a reason to run the Euro switch.
That's why we offer the skene kit with a switch or without a switch.
We want the rider to have options and not be purchasing things they don't need.
I also appreciate you asking in this thread.
__________________
When Quality matters,Its all about choices.
Cyclops Performance LED Vendors thread
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=839163
www.cyclopsadventuresports.com
1-800-624-0278
Off Road Ryder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 08:10 PM   #720
OldF7Guy
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Oddometer: 301
Is it possible to wire these in so that they come on only with the high beam on? If so, what harness set up would you need. I am thinking on a street bike this may be the wise way to go. Run the high beams and Long range lights in the day time and have them available at night when conditions are such that you can use it. Thanks.

Or, what are others doing that have these on street ridden motorcycles?
OldF7Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014