ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 03:06 PM   #1
rmhrc628 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
rmhrc628's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: The high country VIC
Oddometer: 2,481
Mapsource v basecamp currency

Sorry if rehashed :)

* is basecamp the replacement for mapsource? (I have mapsource)

*I have an imac which is bootcamped - if I download basecamp is it better on an imac or pc?

* does basecamp work with my 276C?

Sorry to the gps gods
rmhrc628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:22 PM   #2
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 650
BaseCamp for Mac is a decent app, Windows BaseCamp sucks IMHO. MapSource still does a few things better than BaseCamp, searching for one, and has a few features BaseCamp has yet to embrace, such as waypoint category support. BaseCamp has a lot of stuff MapSource does not and runs on a Mac very well. I still use both BaseCamp for Mac and MapSource, but lately MapSource very little. No harm in trying them both, they'll both work with your 276C.
__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:23 PM   #3
rmhrc628 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
rmhrc628's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: The high country VIC
Oddometer: 2,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W View Post
BaseCamp for Mac is a decent app, Windows BaseCamp sucks IMHO. MapSource still does a few things better than BaseCamp, searching for one, and has a few features BaseCamp has yet to embrace, such as waypoint category support. BaseCamp has a lot of stuff MapSource does not and runs on a Mac very well. I still use both BaseCamp for Mac and MapSource, but lately MapSource very little. No harm in trying them both, they'll both work with your 276C.

Thankyou

So I downloaded BC into my imac - how do I get that 3d effect or vision?

I had various software loaded under my PV version so will I now need to rebuy that garmin software?
rmhrc628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:15 AM   #4
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmhrc628 View Post
Thankyou

So I downloaded BC into my imac - how do I get that 3d effect or vision?

I had various software loaded under my PV version so will I now need to rebuy that garmin software?
The 3D view is only available if you've got the compatible maps loaded, IIRC only the TOPO series have this ability.

If you've got existing maps installed on a PC, there is a conversion utility available from the Garmin website that you have to run under Windows. It will convert the map files to a Mac compatible format. Be warned, it's a bit buggy. In my experience, running the converter without the option to create a tar ball (compression) worked best. I had success converting US Roads and Rec, the Canadian TOPO and City Select series but in some cases it took two or three tries. These converted maps work fine on my 376C and the data card of my 478 so I'm pretty sure the 276C will be fine. HTH
__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014