ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2012, 04:48 PM   #1
scottcolbath OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
scottcolbath's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: The north edge of 85050
Oddometer: 6,832
Master link troubles

Putting a new chain on the 640, and the peen-type master link won't go through the open hole on the chain at all. So, I figure I'll give the clip-type master link a shot. Same thing. Neither is willing to make this journey on to my chain.

I tried getting my chain tool in place to press it through, but there is not enough space to make this work on just one plate of the master link. I'm concerned that if I try setting it up where I squeeze both plates, I'll bend the one that is not the one I'm trying to feed the master link through. So, I'm not doing that.

So, maybe a gentle buzz on the first hole with the dremel?

The master link goes right through the inner link hole. No problem there.

Anyone else experienced this?

S.C.
scottcolbath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 04:51 PM   #2
slide
A nation in despair
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: NM, USA
Oddometer: 21,122
If you got the links and chain from the same vendor then tell them to either supply the proper link or a new chain - whichever is defective.

I can't suggest Dremel'ing anything.
__________________
Why be born again when you can just grow up?
slide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 04:57 PM   #3
baloneyskin daddy
bikaholic
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: southcentral PA.
Oddometer: 2,033
It is a press fit you know, its designed to be very tight. Try working one pin at a time ,little by little till it gets started. What chain tool do you have?
baloneyskin daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:00 PM   #4
scottcolbath OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
scottcolbath's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: The north edge of 85050
Oddometer: 6,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by baloneyskin daddy View Post
It is a press fit you know, its designed to be very tight. Try working one pin at a time ,little by little till it gets started. What chain tool do you have?
I have the very nice Motion Pro, and I am only working one pin at a time. Trouble is, you really can't fit the press to get just that one pin on the one plate. It wants both plates. Maybe I'll give it a shot and just watch out for any bending of the outside plate (pressing link open end outward from the inside of the bike).

S.C.
scottcolbath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:01 PM   #5
katbeanz
earthbound misfit, I
 
katbeanz's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Kansas City
Oddometer: 7,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottcolbath View Post
I have the very nice Motion Pro, and I am only working one pin at a time. Trouble is, you really can't fit the press to get just that one pin on the one plate. It wants both plates. Maybe I'll give it a shot and just watch out for any bending of the outside plate (pressing link open end outward from the inside of the bike).

S.C.
I use a beefy pair of vise grips and a 6mm nut for a spacer over the pin, work one side at a time until it's seated. You can usually feel the clip groove with a fingernail.
__________________
katbeanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:05 PM   #6
scottcolbath OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
scottcolbath's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: The north edge of 85050
Oddometer: 6,832
Update.......

I AM A FRIGGIN' DUMBASS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I counted the links on the old chain.......twice. I counted the links on the new chain.......twice.

Then, I cut one extra pin back from where I should have, thereby rendering that entire link useless. I did not notice I did this until a few minutes ago. So, I removed the rest of the bad link, and now it's too short to use.

So, anyone need a slightly short chain?

S.C.
scottcolbath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:16 PM   #7
Chuckracer
Jerkus Maximus
 
Chuckracer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lowville, NY
Oddometer: 7,956
LOL! Well...you're not the first one to do this, believe me!

The good news is you have the fix on hand. A properly installed rivet link is every bit as strong as a regular link and you still have the clip link, right? Just use them both.

They are both designed to be a press fit and the plates will go on hard, but you have the right tool for the job. When in doubt, read the instructions and start again. Press both links on at the same time and it will go fine.


*edit* It also sounds like you're having a bad night...maybe walk away for tonight?
__________________
2005.5 KTM 950 Adventure
2005 Ducati ST3
Chuckracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:05 PM   #8
scottcolbath OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
scottcolbath's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: The north edge of 85050
Oddometer: 6,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckracer View Post
LOL! Well...you're not the first one to do this, believe me!
It's really a first for me. I am typically so careful, I have no idea how I managed to do this.

Quote:
The good news is you have the fix on hand. A properly installed rivet link is every bit as strong as a regular link and you still have the clip link, right? Just use them both.
Actually, I went digging in the trash and pulled out my old chain. I am very proactive in my parts replacement. The old chain is actually in decent shape, so for now I will use the rivet link I have and put that chain back on for Baja next week. When I get home, I'll ponder the other option, which isn't all that bad.

Quote:
They are both designed to be a press fit and the plates will go on hard, but you have the right tool for the job. When in doubt, read the instructions and start again. Press both links on at the same time and it will go fine.
The thing is, this is far from my first chain rodeo. The fact that I did this is just insane.

Quote:
*edit* It also sounds like you're having a bad night...maybe walk away for tonight?
Honestly, there's tons of noise in my head these days. I'm up at 4:30 and still wide awake at 11:00, even after a few cocktails. So yes, there's a lot going on in my head. Hoepfully a trip down to the Baja 1K will help that.

S.C.
scottcolbath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:43 AM   #9
SRG
SRG
 
SRG's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia USA
Oddometer: 1,196
I've used 2 (clip type) master links in the chain before - it's a non issue.
__________________
Lazy Traveler
SRG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:51 AM   #10
slide
A nation in despair
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: NM, USA
Oddometer: 21,122
Or use two rivet links. He said he had a chain tool
__________________
Why be born again when you can just grow up?
slide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:44 PM   #11
scottcolbath OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
scottcolbath's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: The north edge of 85050
Oddometer: 6,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by slide View Post
Or use two rivet links. He said he had a chain tool
Yeah, I may pick up a fresh pair of rivet links when I get back from Baja. No sense in wasting a perfectly good chain.

S.C.
scottcolbath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:56 PM   #12
Foot dragger
singletracker
 
Foot dragger's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: chico,just below rag dump(nor-cal)
Oddometer: 12,817
+1 on the vise grip scenario,Ive used them to get all sorts of master links into place. Bummer about the short chain,ride now,worry later.
__________________
Some bikes around at times
Foot dragger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:00 PM   #13
Balootraveler
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Balootraveler's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: mississippi of the west.
Oddometer: 333
Dman Glad i never skrew upp. Too bad you have a 640 I have a short 520?525? I need to add a couple of link some one miss counted.
__________________
If I grow up I'll be taller.
Balootraveler is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014