ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2013, 10:03 AM   #1
ahwarm OP
Adventurer
 
ahwarm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Ca
Oddometer: 40
SMH10 Adhesive Patch

On my old helmet I was using the bracket and it was working out pretty good. Standing up to the wind and bouncing. On my new helmet, there was no place to mount the bracket so I'm using the adhesive patch. It's starting to separate from the helmet already and I've only used it for about 4 days. I suppose it's not standing up to the 80mph freeway speeds. Anybody have a similar issue? What was your solution?

Thanks,

Andy
ahwarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:36 AM   #2
StuartV
Motorcyclist
 
StuartV's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Bristow, VA
Oddometer: 1,266
I used the stick-on plate on my helmet and my g/f's. Mine held up with never a problem. My g/f's (on the same model helmet) started falling off when it would get hot (like, if the helmet were left on the bike, in the sun, while we ate lunch, for example).

On hers, the adhesive patch was actually sticking to the helmet and the Sena plate was coming off the adhesive patch. I contacted Sena Tech Support and they sent me a new stick-on plate at no charge.

However, before I received it, I figured out that my initial assessment that the regular clamp would not work on our helmets (Bell Vortex) was wrong. So, I fit the regular clamps on both helmets and have had no further problems.
__________________
- Stu
'09 R12GS, '05 GSX-R1000
Iron Butt # 4999, WERA/CCS EX # 666 (currently, expired), AMA Life Member
Racer, Drummer, Bassist, Software Engineer
StuartV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 12:20 PM   #3
ubaath
Adventurer
 
ubaath's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Oddometer: 92
I've used 3M Dual Lock instead of the adhesive patch; it seems to hold up pretty well after two seasons.
__________________
Roads? Where we're going, we don't need ... roads
- Doc Brown
ubaath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 12:24 PM   #4
ahwarm OP
Adventurer
 
ahwarm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Ca
Oddometer: 40
I'd like to use the clamp but it just doesn't look possible. There is no gap between the padding and the helmet. I figured it was 3M tape to begin with but I'll try it again.

Thanks

Andy
ahwarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:15 PM   #5
k1w1t1m
Kiwi
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: NW Arkansas
Oddometer: 902
I used trim tape from Autozone for my scala Q2 and had no problems over a couple of seasons. A change of helmets is why I had to find an alternative as I wasn't going to buy a new glue plate.
__________________
It's all for Jesus, CMA Faith Riders, Chapter 732

'01 BMW R1150GS
k1w1t1m is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014