ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2005, 10:58 AM   #1
Wirespokes OP
Beemerholics Anonymous
 
Wirespokes's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Jackson's Bottom Oregon
Oddometer: 8,032
Map download PDA -> GarminV?

I'd like to download more maps when on the road without lugging a laptop around with me. Anyone loaded the maps into a PDA and access them that way? Which PDA and did it require any special cables?
Wirespokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2005, 02:03 PM   #2
christian
Exchange your GPS Track!
 
christian's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Redwood City, CA
Oddometer: 2,614
I am exploring that stuff too.

I got a old Pocket PC from a co-worker with 32MB memory
and a cable from there http://www.pc-mobile.net/
They've got pretty much any cable you need.
you may look into this too.
http://www.gpsinformation.org/ronh/#g7toCE

That works for sure for Tracklog/routes/waypoints.
I am still learning for maps.

Christian
__________________
KTM 950 ADV '05.5
KTM 690 '10
christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2005, 06:25 PM   #3
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,165
Don't think you'll be able to do maps with a PocketPC, which is WinCE; not XP [or 95, 98, ME, NT...). To the best of my knowledge the only thing that really works for maps is full blown Winblows...
SteveAZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2005, 06:51 PM   #4
Wirespokes OP
Beemerholics Anonymous
 
Wirespokes's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Jackson's Bottom Oregon
Oddometer: 8,032
Steve,

I don't like that answer. I'm hoping it isn't true. There's gotta be a way to download maps to the thing without lugging a laptop around.
Wirespokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 10:08 AM   #5
christian
Exchange your GPS Track!
 
christian's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Redwood City, CA
Oddometer: 2,614
Yes, I remember seeing a post either here (advrider) or thumpertalk about it.

I just can't seem to find it, the problem with the search is that you can not have required words. If I search GPS PDA it will return post with either Gps or pda...
__________________
KTM 950 ADV '05.5
KTM 690 '10
christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 10:50 AM   #6
Wirespokes OP
Beemerholics Anonymous
 
Wirespokes's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Jackson's Bottom Oregon
Oddometer: 8,032
I've heard of guys downloading ignition maps to the ICU from a PDA, so it seems do-able. Good luck locating the thread!
Wirespokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 01:51 PM   #7
cpf3
Adventurer
 
cpf3's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Central Texas, USA
Oddometer: 95
Maps for PDAs

I use a variety of mapping software and a Garmin Legend GPS. I have also "screen captured" images of these maps, then transferred then to my PalmOne Zire 72 (as images). But the maps I download into the GPS work better for me.

Delorme makes a Street Atlas map package that will allow you to operate their handheld version on your PDA. An additional option is a GPS package that will turn your PDS into a mapping GPS. I haven't useeither of these so I can't comment on how good they are.

Chuck
cpf3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 03:28 PM   #8
Wirespokes OP
Beemerholics Anonymous
 
Wirespokes's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Jackson's Bottom Oregon
Oddometer: 8,032
Chuck - I know about using a PDA as a GPS. The problem with that is that PDAs don't stand up too well to the MC environment. I like my GarminV but want a solution to using a laptop to download more maps when I'm out of the area that I've already loaded. I just don't want to haul around a laptop just for that - too much space, weight and something else to worry about.
Wirespokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 05:45 PM   #9
wickedsprint
Banned
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Oddometer: 2,386
If mapsource will run on the pda..i dont see why it wont work.
wickedsprint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 05:50 PM   #10
christian
Exchange your GPS Track!
 
christian's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Redwood City, CA
Oddometer: 2,614
I don't think Mapsource runs on PDA.
I think only on the Ique which is a PDA/GPS

but that won't help for this problem.
__________________
KTM 950 ADV '05.5
KTM 690 '10
christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 06:34 PM   #11
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,334
As noted, you can use g7toCE for transfering [to Serial interfaces only] Tracks/Routes/Waypoints to a Garmin from a PocketPC. I do this with my Garmin Vista and PPC. I wrote to the Ron Henderson (g7toCE); Maps, no - due to proprietary format and Garmins with USB only interfaces can't play either.

Deadend street unless Garmin opens up a bit...and I wouldn't count on that.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014