ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2012, 02:11 PM   #1
kars85 OP
Adventurer
 
kars85's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: IOWA
Oddometer: 81
WarmnSafe Dual Remote Heat Troller Wiring Question

Hopefully an easy answer here -

I'm in the process of wiring up my dual remote mounted heat troller and was curious if it was OK if I wired the power harness for the control knobs to my eastern beaver distribution block. I've got too much stuff hanging off my battery as it is...

Mike said both harnesses should be wired directly to the battery, but I can't imagine that the nominal power draw of the controller portion needing that much juice?

I'm still in the process of fully understanding how the pants/jacket combo uses the same power, but independent signal. Haven't got into looking at how that all wires up together...

Thanks!

kars85 screwed with this post 11-28-2012 at 04:32 PM
kars85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 06:19 PM   #2
greywolf
Unpaved road avoider
 
greywolf's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Evanston IL
Oddometer: 981
I've run my heated gear off a PC8 for 5 years. It's fine.
__________________
Pat

in order of ownership
1971 Honda CB350, 2 1973 Honda CB500s, one was stolen, 1974 Can-Am 175 TNT, 1978 Yamaha XS11, 1978 Honda CX500, 1975 BMW R90S, 1983 BMW R65LS, 2005 Suzuki DL650 totaled, 2007 Suzuki DL650A, 2012 Suzuki DL650A
greywolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:57 PM   #3
kars85 OP
Adventurer
 
kars85's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: IOWA
Oddometer: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by greywolf View Post
I've run my heated gear off a PC8 for 5 years. It's fine.

Thanks...I know it might sound like a dumb question but I'd rather ask once than need to redo it.

That being said, should I just cut the harness off before the inline fuse since the PC-8's already going to have one? Seem logical, but electricity and logic to me is foreign until I've done it once.

Last one before I turn off the lights on these elementary questions...of the two harnesses I received, one is for the HeatTroller controls and the other I'll route somewhere near the seat area to plug my remote receiver into for powering my jacket & pants?
kars85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:41 PM   #4
greywolf
Unpaved road avoider
 
greywolf's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Evanston IL
Oddometer: 981
I don't have the wireless controller but that sounds reasonable. I cut off the fuse and extended the wires since I put the wired controller on the handlebar.

__________________
Pat

in order of ownership
1971 Honda CB350, 2 1973 Honda CB500s, one was stolen, 1974 Can-Am 175 TNT, 1978 Yamaha XS11, 1978 Honda CX500, 1975 BMW R90S, 1983 BMW R65LS, 2005 Suzuki DL650 totaled, 2007 Suzuki DL650A, 2012 Suzuki DL650A
greywolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 07:00 AM   #5
kars85 OP
Adventurer
 
kars85's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: IOWA
Oddometer: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by greywolf View Post
I don't have the wireless controller but that sounds reasonable. I cut off the fuse and extended the wires since I put the wired controller on the handlebar.
Thanks for your help...once i get my voltmeter in I'll tackle this as well...
kars85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 10:58 AM   #6
OaklandStrom
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: East Bay
Oddometer: 1,612
The PC-8 has a max capacity that I just grabbed from their website.
- maximum fuse panel capacity 60 Amps (40A/20A - switched/unswitched)


I assume you are wiring the heat-trollers to the switched side (because it's smart to do that). All you need to do is make sure that:
1) The fuse for the heat-troller is large enough for the load you are placing on it.
2) The capacity of the wiring is more than the capacity of the fuse.
3) The total Wattage of things connected to the switched side of the PC-8 is 40Amps or less.


Amps, Watts & volts - oh my!
Watts = volts x amps. Your bike is 12 volts (although usually 13+).


If your jacket is 90 Watts, then it is 90/12 or 7.5 amps.
If the gloves are 30 Watts, then the controller will be running (90+30)/12 = 10 amps. You need a fuse that is at least 10 amps. They make a 10 and a 15, so use a 15.




OaklandStrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014