ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 07:09 AM   #1
Tim OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands, UK
Oddometer: 2,354
Montana/mac Software porblem - Help!

I have tried searching for a solution to my problem but can't find anything so would appreciate some help or a pointer in the right direction.

My Mac is an iMac (Intel), running 10.5.8.

My mapping software is City Navigator Europe NT 2012.3

I have previously been able to load these maps to my Montana 600 and everything has worked as it should.

Today when I switched the Montana on I didn't have any of my maps, just the base map (this may be as a result of me doing something wrong previously but it is some time since I used it and I really can't remember). I have checked that it's not just that the maps are switched off but they are not listed, just the base map. I even tried switching profiles to see if they showed up but they are not there.

I then connected the Montana to the iMac in order to go to Garmin.com to check my maps. I got a message from Garmin telling me that I needed to update my Communicator Plug In. I downloaded the update, double clicked on it as instructed and got this message



I have tried this three or more times and still get the same message every time. I even did a full computer re-start but still get the same. I also tried it with and without the Montana connected to the iMac.

Being unable to check on my maps through Garmin.com I opened BaseCamp and confirmed that the maps are there



So I open MapInstall and get this message



Click "Install now" and then get this



So, now I see a pattern developing, the "No default application specified" pattern.

I then tried MapInstall again but this time told it to do the upgrade later and when ahead and told it to load the maps to the Montana. I left it doing its thing and then it just stops with this



I can leave it like this for as long as you like and nothing further happens and I have to cancel in the end.

As a last resort I tried to re-install the maps onto the iMac from the DVD but couldn't do that either as I again got the "No default application specified" message.



So, I suppose that the main question is what is the default application and where can I get it and, come to that why haven't I got it!?

Any help would be most appreciated, thanks.
__________________
A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying........."Damn..We F*cked Up" - Anon.

Tim screwed with this post 12-05-2012 at 07:22 AM
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:13 AM   #2
WoodButcher
Beastly Adventurer
 
WoodButcher's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 1,951
That's a Mac issue, not a Garmin issue. Usually it is just an association issue. So you need to re-associate the .pkg files with the installer. Here is something I pulled off a google searh:
First right click on the .pkg & select the get info. New window will appear, select the open with, Is there Installer app from the list to chose from?

You can manually open the installer app from:

/System/Library/CoreServices/Installer.app

Is the installer app location there?

Hope that helps.
__________________
Rusty

2009 BMW R1200GS Adventure
1999 DR650
WoodButcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:23 AM   #3
Tim OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands, UK
Oddometer: 2,354
Thanks for the advice - I didn't realize that it was a Mac problem. The /System/Library/CoreServices/Installer.app worked perfectly for installing the Communicator plugin and Map update, I am now in the process of re-installing my maps and will report back on the result.

Thanks again
__________________
A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying........."Damn..We F*cked Up" - Anon.
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014