ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-24-2012, 08:40 AM   #16
FatChance
Road Captain
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 10,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by renogeorge View Post
You can use CN from an SD card on your computer in BaseCamp and Mapsource. BUT you must have the CN SD loaded in your GPS and connected to your computer.
I have tried that with Mapsource but it was not able to access the CN maps on a uSD card in my Montana. There was no problem with Basecamp. Have you actually connected to Mapsource and have it access the CN maps on a uSD card in a gps?
__________________
Pain in the Butte Ranch
Durango, Colorado

- Calculated risk or forbidden fruit?
FatChance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 12:38 PM   #17
bkg123
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Milwaukie, Or.
Oddometer: 178
I really dont want to take this off topic to far, but Im in the learning stage with Basecamp and CN. I have a Nuvi with lifetime maps. I did an update last week and the updater asked if I wanted to update the Nuvi or Nuvi and Basecamp. I chose both and now I have full CN street maps on my Mac even when the Nuvi is'nt attached. I can route, find POI's, all kinds of stuff. Am I just lucky???
bkg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 05:19 PM   #18
Patch
Studly Adventurer
 
Patch's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Southwestern New England
Oddometer: 653
yes.
Patch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 05:59 PM   #19
renogeorge
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Reno
Oddometer: 1,120
CN on SD

My experience with CN was with the Garmin SD card version. So I don't know if the Lifetime maps are different or not. In working with the 2011 version of CN on DVD, I was able to copy CN to my computer and use it there without being connected to the gps.

In a previous response I indicated that I could access CN 2013 on my computer (using CN on SD) in either Basecamp or Mapsource. I just double checked and I can only access CN in Basecamp--not in Mapsource. I have been bouncing back and forth between BC amd MS trying to make to switch to BC. Sorry if I confused anyone with with my reply.
renogeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 02:31 PM   #20
bkg123
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Milwaukie, Or.
Oddometer: 178
This whole CN thing is tricky. I purchased the Download version of CNNA for my Oregon, loaded it onto my SD card and when I brought up Basecamp for the first time it wiped the full version of CN I had saved on my Mac from my earlier update (see my earlier post). Not really a big deal, all I have to do is plug in the Oregon and all is well but I felt like I had a freeby there for a little while, then lost it.
Just FYI, the Oregon is supposed to be able to handle up to 4 Gb SD cards, but it runs a 32Gb just fine. That would be a lot of maps now!
bkg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014