ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2012, 08:47 PM   #1
MingRidesBikes OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MingRidesBikes's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Oddometer: 177
DRC Edge 2 Brake light problems

hey guys 1st off, I have a 99 wr400f. I just switched out the stock fender and tail light for a yz fender and DRC edge 2 tail light. Love the looks, but cannot figure out why the brake light will not work. I 1st just tried matching up the colors on the 3 wires. (btw, I have the brake pressure switch to activate the brake light) So the WR400's have a blue wire (constant i believe) and black wire (ground) that run from the bike to the stock tail light. The wire harness from the tail light has a yellow wire (brake light) that is not connected stock. The brake pressure switch is hooked up as so: The red wire from the banjo splices into the blue wire. and the yellow wire from the banjo hooks up directly to the yellow wire out of the stock tail light. This set up works perfect. no issues. here is the issue. When I switched to the DRC edge 2 tail light (again a red wire, a black wire, and a yellow wire) I hooked up black to black (ground), red to blue, and yellow to yellow. This is what happened: The running light works fine. but the 3 white licence plate LED's do not light up. when I press on the brake, the 3 white licence plate LED's light up. No change to the tail lights that are on. Okay so I look at the package, and what do you know it says the red is the brake light and the yellow is the running tail light. Okay, so I switch it around. Now I have black to black, red (drc wire) to yellow (bike), and yellow (drc wire) to blue (bike) and here is the result. Now the tail light AND the 3 white licence plate LED's are on, but the brake does nothing... The LED's don't get brighter, they don't dim. It's like the brake light (or pressure switch) doesn't exist! Can anyone help me??? Is there any other way to wire up 3 different wires knowing that the black on both the bike and the tail light is ground...
MingRidesBikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 03:14 AM   #2
webmonstro
A Aventura Continua....
 
webmonstro's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Portugal
Oddometer: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by MingRidesBikes View Post
hey guys 1st off, I have a 99 wr400f. I just switched out the stock fender and tail light for a yz fender and DRC edge 2 tail light. Love the looks, but cannot figure out why the brake light will not work. I 1st just tried matching up the colors on the 3 wires. (btw, I have the brake pressure switch to activate the brake light) So the WR400's have a blue wire (constant i believe) and black wire (ground) that run from the bike to the stock tail light. The wire harness from the tail light has a yellow wire (brake light) that is not connected stock. The brake pressure switch is hooked up as so: The red wire from the banjo splices into the blue wire. and the yellow wire from the banjo hooks up directly to the yellow wire out of the stock tail light. This set up works perfect. no issues. here is the issue. When I switched to the DRC edge 2 tail light (again a red wire, a black wire, and a yellow wire) I hooked up black to black (ground), red to blue, and yellow to yellow. This is what happened: The running light works fine. but the 3 white licence plate LED's do not light up. when I press on the brake, the 3 white licence plate LED's light up. No change to the tail lights that are on. Okay so I look at the package, and what do you know it says the red is the brake light and the yellow is the running tail light. Okay, so I switch it around. Now I have black to black, red (drc wire) to yellow (bike), and yellow (drc wire) to blue (bike) and here is the result. Now the tail light AND the 3 white licence plate LED's are on, but the brake does nothing... The LED's don't get brighter, they don't dim. It's like the brake light (or pressure switch) doesn't exist! Can anyone help me??? Is there any other way to wire up 3 different wires knowing that the black on both the bike and the tail light is ground...

If you disconnect the red DRC and connect a wire ditrect to the batt (+) does the brack light light up ?

get or make a test light and check if witch wire from the harness e getting power when lights on an witch is getting power when brake is pressed
webmonstro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:16 AM   #3
MingRidesBikes OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MingRidesBikes's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Oddometer: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by webmonstro View Post
If you disconnect the red DRC and connect a wire ditrect to the batt (+) does the brack light light up ?

get or make a test light and check if witch wire from the harness e getting power when lights on an witch is getting power when brake is pressed
the wr400 doesnt have a battery. I may have to get a test light, since i don't have one. (but both the red wire and the yellow wire are getting power it seems...) now I'm more confused. lol. thanks for the response though. I'm hoping someone with a wr that has installed this tail light can chime in.
MingRidesBikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 07:05 PM   #4
MingRidesBikes OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MingRidesBikes's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Oddometer: 177
so after pulling everything apart, it was a bad connection from my bikes constant, to my brake pressure switch. all is working now.
MingRidesBikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014