ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Racing
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-28-2013, 04:03 PM   #196
Hayduke
///SAFETY THIRD///
 
Hayduke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Salida, coloRADo
Oddometer: 43,111


I don't know what happened, but I printed a route this morning and went out to verify mileages. Came back and made some changes, then saved it. Seemed to work ok, but then I tried to open it again and now, the whole route (basically) is gone. Lost everything from 5 miles on, in a 70 mile route.
__________________
"What these people need is some mental psychology."-Bonnie Abbzug

Hayduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 04:09 PM   #197
Hayduke
///SAFETY THIRD///
 
Hayduke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Salida, coloRADo
Oddometer: 43,111
Looks like the route didn't open entirely due to some glitch when I tried opening it the second time, so when it auto saved it only saved what did open, and lost the majority of the route. I'm afraid to open any of them now; if they don't completely load, then the autosave kicks in, seems like I could lose another route. I had many hours into that one.


edit: I guess the fix is to make sure to make many copy's of each route so that hopefully you can go back to a remaining one if a glitch wipes out the route you are working on...
__________________
"What these people need is some mental psychology."-Bonnie Abbzug


Hayduke screwed with this post 04-28-2013 at 04:33 PM
Hayduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 04:30 PM   #198
Yellow Pig
Allergic to Asphalt!
 
Yellow Pig's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 6,579
Damn, that's scary!
__________________
So Many Idiots, So Few Comets!!!!!!!!!
Yellow Pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 04:40 PM   #199
Hayduke
///SAFETY THIRD///
 
Hayduke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Salida, coloRADo
Oddometer: 43,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellow Pig View Post
Damn, that's scary!
Just make sure to make copies of your routes. In your route library, there's a button for "copy". I'd make a copy and work on that, and when it's completely finished, save it with a new name. I had a lot of work into that one; I should have thought about the copy feature. Don't know if I have it in me to redo it.
__________________
"What these people need is some mental psychology."-Bonnie Abbzug

Hayduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 07:24 PM   #200
DaveRMS
Studly Adventurer
 
DaveRMS's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: San Rafael, CA
Oddometer: 985
For beta testers, we have backups and can recover routes if lost due to a glitch.

Dave
__________________
Rally Management Services - 2015 Dakar plans in the works...
DaveRMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 06:57 AM   #201
Yellow Pig
Allergic to Asphalt!
 
Yellow Pig's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 6,579
Nice!
__________________
So Many Idiots, So Few Comets!!!!!!!!!
Yellow Pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 05:19 PM   #202
DaveRMS
Studly Adventurer
 
DaveRMS's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: San Rafael, CA
Oddometer: 985
Hi all,

Auto-save is now a bit more friendly. It honors typing as "activity" and only saves when you are idle. It will not save while you have the waypoint editor open. You can also disable auto-save if you promise that you will save your work frequently ;-)

Duke, good tip on using the "copy" function.

Cheers,
Dave
__________________
Rally Management Services - 2015 Dakar plans in the works...
DaveRMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 12:52 PM   #203
homerj
742 Evergreen Terrace
 
homerj's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: 742 Evergreen Terrace
Oddometer: 4,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveRMS View Post
Hi all,

Auto-save is now a bit more friendly. It honors typing as "activity" and only saves when you are idle. It will not save while you have the waypoint editor open. You can also disable auto-save if you promise that you will save your work frequently ;-)

Duke, good tip on using the "copy" function.

Cheers,
Dave
Fantastic Dave. And thanks for the note about the backups.
__________________
09 570 Rallye Beast
"Being shot out of a cannon will always be better than being squeezed out of a tube. That is why God made fast motorcycles, Bubba…"-Hunter S. Thompson
homerj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 10:50 PM   #204
RenoMoto OP
Rally Navigator
 
RenoMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Sitting at My Computer
Oddometer: 186
New features are here - Rally Navigator update

Beta Team:

Thanks to your detailed feedback we have made significant improvements to Rally Navigator.

We're in the final stages of our beta development.

If you haven't visited Rally Navigator in a while, please take a few minutes to check it out and let us know what you think.



Platform Features:
  • Fixed the failed save issue some users were experiencing - This was a real frustration!
  • We now have a Version History feature so you can revert if you make a mistake.
  • Compatible with Google Earth 7.x No more hassling with GE 6.2
  • Much quicker loading of GPX track imports
  • Improved Route Library and sharing function
  • Replaced auto-save with an automated save reminder
Pre-running Features:
  • Create route from GPX or scratch
  • Export your route to your GPS unit as pre-run aid
  • After pre-run, overlay GPX tracks and waypoints over your route to make corrections
Roadbook Customization:
  • Show-Hide individual CAP headings and GPS coordinates
  • Drag and drop road segments and 5 simple text desriptions
  • Draw roundabouts
  • Calculate and report fuel range in the header
Printing
  • Supports continuous roll printing
  • Improved formatting of the printed roadbook
www.rallynavigator.com

Huge thanks to Dave Peckham (DaveRMS) for his insane coding skillz!!
__________________
Mike Shirley
Double Diamond Athletic Club - Reno - Nevada
500 XCW - 990 Adventure R - 690 Duke
Pics - Moto - Dakar Rally - Rally Mongolia - TAT - F1 - Sports Cars - Crap
Rally Navigator - Create, Print & Share Rally Routes with Google Earth.

RenoMoto screwed with this post 06-08-2013 at 07:20 PM
RenoMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 07:44 AM   #205
beechum1
Beastly Adventurer
 
beechum1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Herlong, CA. Look it up, I'll wait.
Oddometer: 6,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by RenoMoto View Post
Huge thanks to Dave Peckham (DaveRMS) for his insane coding skillz!!
__________________
Rally Moto Kit /// Vendor Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dread Pendragon View Post
Mention to HogWild which way the wind is blowing where you're at, wait 20 minutes, and he'll post a picture of the intersection your at and a Google Earth route of how to get there.
beechum1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 08:39 PM   #206
Uller
Beastly Adventurer
 
Uller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Arlington, WA
Oddometer: 1,630
Just finally getting around to playing with your awesome program.

I have a suggestion and/or comment.....

I have used the website www.gpsies.com on quite a few occasions to create some awesome tracks using google maps. One of the very cool features of this site is the ability to select whether the track you create follows roads or if it should follow a straight line between points.

This is extremely helpful when following a marked forest road or two track as you can then zoom out quite a ways and then add another point and then your track will follow the road perfectly for many miles. It will even follow turns connecting the shortest route via road between the two points. This saves you a ton of time having to click points around many, many turns through the mountains. You could then go back and modify, label and tulip your route as needed.

For instance, I just created the same 28 mile track in gpsies in roughly 1/10th the time it took me in rallynavigator.

Just a suggestion. Awesome program. Thank You!
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 04:31 AM   #207
Evil Invader
Studly Adventurer
 
Evil Invader's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Hell-sing-land, Sweden
Oddometer: 633
Still missing roadsigns pointing left and railroad(crossings)...
Otherwise I'm happy!

You're doin a great job! Thank You!!
__________________
690 "DIY" thread (incl. "Rallybike build"): http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=708813

M Motoadventures
Evil Invader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:57 AM   #208
DaveRMS
Studly Adventurer
 
DaveRMS's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: San Rafael, CA
Oddometer: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
follows roads
We're working on this one. Thanks for your "vote".

Dave
__________________
Rally Management Services - 2015 Dakar plans in the works...
DaveRMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 10:00 AM   #209
DaveRMS
Studly Adventurer
 
DaveRMS's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: San Rafael, CA
Oddometer: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Invader View Post
Still missing roadsigns pointing left and railroad(crossings)...
Otherwise I'm happy!

You're doin a great job! Thank You!!
We're working on adding more icons, as well as the ability to upload your own.

In the meantime, I've seen people using the fence icons as RR tracks. You can also rotate and resize all the icons.

Dave
__________________
Rally Management Services - 2015 Dakar plans in the works...
DaveRMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 10:09 AM   #210
DaveRMS
Studly Adventurer
 
DaveRMS's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: San Rafael, CA
Oddometer: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hayduke View Post
Looks like the route didn't open entirely due to some glitch when I tried opening it the second time, so when it auto saved it only saved what did open, and lost the majority of the route. I'm afraid to open any of them now; if they don't completely load, then the autosave kicks in, seems like I could lose another route. I had many hours into that one.


edit: I guess the fix is to make sure to make many copy's of each route so that hopefully you can go back to a remaining one if a glitch wipes out the route you are working on...
Duke,

Are we on the right track with the new changes re: no auto-save and version history? I think this takes care of that accidental save problem, as well as providing a safety net.

Dave
__________________
Rally Management Services - 2015 Dakar plans in the works...
DaveRMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014