ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2013, 09:25 PM   #1
spencergt66 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle WA
Oddometer: 636
Panniers interchangeable?

I have a set of the KTM Gobi panniers but not really liking parts about them so im looking to go to the zega or zega pro panniers. That being said do i need to change the racks too or will the zegas fit using the gobi racks?
spencergt66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:14 AM   #2
Deviant666
Present
 
Deviant666's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Earth
Oddometer: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by spencergt66 View Post
I have a set of the KTM Gobi panniers but not really liking parts about them so im looking to go to the zega or zega pro panniers. That being said do i need to change the racks too or will the zegas fit using the gobi racks?

I don't think they can fit on the Gobi racks...Imo Gobi's are very practical to carry around, quite tough, a little wide yes but overall I like'em a lot...
__________________
KTM 990 Adventure White 2009 R specced
ZZR1400 ABS 2008
Deviant666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:55 AM   #3
Dogtown
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Dogtown's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Marin County
Oddometer: 406
zega

If you buy the zega's without mounts you should be able to install Zega mounts to fit or easily or cheaply make your own mounts to fit.

Gobi's where to friggin big for me and the double jacket method that they are built by wastes space!

I have tried them all and have settled on Pelicans on my gobi racks.


Good luck
__________________
OH 7 990

Marin County To Cabo!
Dogtown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 12:07 PM   #4
Jaimoto
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jaimoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Santiago, Chile
Oddometer: 1,190
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...69&postcount=9
__________________
Jaime

2007 KTM 990 Adventure
2012 Yamaha BWs 125
Jaimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 03:06 PM   #5
spencergt66 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle WA
Oddometer: 636
Looked a few places and have found so conflicting answers... So i Called Ron At KTM Twins said the Zega pros are a direct fit using the same rack... The issues came with the old hep-co bag racks. Now I just need decide on black or silver?
spencergt66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 03:20 AM   #6
ciedema
мотоциклист
 
ciedema's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: On the road! Finally!
Oddometer: 1,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by spencergt66 View Post
I have a set of the KTM Gobi panniers but not really liking parts about them so im looking to go to the zega or zega pro panniers. That being said do i need to change the racks too or will the zegas fit using the gobi racks?
Have you got the KTM or H&B racks? The Zega's will fit straight up to the KTM racks.
__________________
Stories from the Seat Facebook My Photos Cannonball Charity Ride
Personal Attacks - the last refuge of the intellectually impaired.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XR650L_Dave View Post
The only guaranteed route to failure is the attempted solution of problems through the application of ideology.
ciedema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:22 AM   #7
spencergt66 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle WA
Oddometer: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciedema View Post
Have you got the KTM or H&B racks? The Zega's will fit straight up to the KTM racks.

Yes I have the Gobi/ktm setup
spencergt66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:49 AM   #8
seppami
990 Adventure
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Kotka, Finland
Oddometer: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by spencergt66 View Post
I have a set of the KTM Gobi panniers but not really liking parts about them so im looking to go to the zega or zega pro panniers. That being said do i need to change the racks too or will the zegas fit using the gobi racks?
Yes, they will fit. If you buy zegas/pros from KTM, they have mounts preinstalled to fit to same racks as ktm gobis. I have the ktm zegas (made by Touratech).
seppami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 06:31 PM   #9
Gabby
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: The Greater Cutler Ohio Metro Area
Oddometer: 438
Ditto. I just bought a set of Zega Pros to replace my Gobis. I lost one of my Gobis on the way to work one day. The latch just broke. No big hits or crashes, it just fell off. Luckily I was able to find it. I never trusted them after that and always had a strap around them. The Zegas fit fine, just hang a little lower.
Gabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014