User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-09-2013, 10:30 PM   #1
2mstone OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 116
Cheap cycle parts.com (rant)

I've had a lot of positive experiences with many vendors, but my last purchase was anything but happy, here is my story;
I need a right hand foot peg bracket and two other parts for my bike. Cheap cycle parts com http://www.cheapcycleparts.com/
had the lowest price by about 2 bucks.

I go to the DL1000 blow up diagrams and order the three parts after carefully comparing the drawings to the parts on my bike. I was especially careful with the foot peg bracket, checking three times by going from computer to the garage to make certain it was the correct part.
Ok, got the parts ordered, and the Cheap Cycle page confirmation says my shipment will arrive in 7 days or less.

13 days later my package arrives, two of the parts are correct, but the foot peg bracket is wrong. I found out it is wrong by taking it out of the sealed bag and comparing it to the one on my bike. Its wrong; a little checking reveals it is for the DL650. I then searched the (incorrect) part number on their site and box pops up that tells me this part also fits the DL1000. Their system screwed up.

The next morning I call Cheap cycle and get a snotty person on the other end. She refuses to even discuss this problem telling me I need to go to their online return page and handle it that way. Which I do, I tell them I received the wrong part and would like to get the correct one. When I click the send button and another pop up tells me Ill have a reply in 3 days. 2 days later I get a short and very terse reply to the effect that;

I can return the part, but shipping fees will be my expense.

They will charge a restocking fee.