ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2013, 12:30 PM   #1
bergermeister OP
housin'
 
bergermeister's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: CA
Oddometer: 2,019
2 air compressors linked

can 2 air compressors be joined to boost CFM? they are not identical. I am not concerned about PSI, just CFM.

if yes, how best to do it? "T" the output lines together, or have them both pump into a separate tank?
bergermeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:04 PM   #2
wmako
bored in NJ
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Andover, New Jersey
Oddometer: 613
Connect the two tanks, separately from the output line. You would probably need to use the pressure switch from one compressor, to turn both on and off, so they come on and off together, otherwise one may sit there and do nothing. Unless you can adjust when they come on and off individually to come on and off at the same pressure.
__________________
wmako
RRMC

1979 CX500
1990 DR350


Ride Reports

Wmako's moped army rides from Jersey to Una-F'n-dilla (August 2010)
wmako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:06 PM   #3
tbarstow
Two-wheelin' Fool
 
tbarstow's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Viva Lost Wages!
Oddometer: 3,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by bergermeister View Post
can 2 air compressors be joined to boost CFM? they are not identical. I am not concerned about PSI, just CFM.

if yes, how best to do it? "T" the output lines together, or have them both pump into a separate tank?
What range of CFM do you need?

Run the outputs to a manifold, then into a larger tank. You'll probably need bigger ID airlines & regulator connected to your output application to take advantage of the bigger tank.
tbarstow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:08 PM   #4
ragtoplvr
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: S. W. Mssouri
Oddometer: 5,763
be sure to not exceed the pressure rating of the lowest pressure compressor.I
ragtoplvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:14 PM   #5
jdrocks
Gravel Runner
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Oddometer: 4,079
just make up a T connection and hook them together, they don't have to be the same size and type. i use quick connects.

if you're using a lot of cfm, both will run continuously. they will start and stop independently on their own pressure switches.
jdrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:42 PM   #6
troidus
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 13,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrocks View Post
if you're using a lot of cfm, both will run continuously. they will start and stop independently on their own pressure switches.
That's how we're set up at work. Four compressors, two in one building and two in the other, but all tied into a common distribution network. At night, one compressor runs the whole place. During the day, all four might run. They each sense local pressure and cycle accordingly. There are a couple of large accumulators in the system, one near each compressor pair, to keep the compressors from cycling repeatedly.
troidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:51 PM   #7
bergermeister OP
housin'
 
bergermeister's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: CA
Oddometer: 2,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrocks View Post
just make up a T connection and hook them together, they don't have to be the same size and type. i use quick connects.

if you're using a lot of cfm, both will run continuously. they will start and stop independently on their own pressure switches.
this is what I'd like to do. while I value and appreciate the other responses, they involve more work (cost?) than just selling the 2 and consolidating to a bigger one.

I only need about 7 cfm, and have two compressors that do about 5.5 each.

if I T them together, do I need any check valves, or is that handled by the compressors themselves?
bergermeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 02:28 PM   #8
P B G
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Greater Chicago
Oddometer: 10,001
Look at the duty cycles on the compressors.

If one is 100% - that one should be set to come on sooner ie. higher set point on the pressure switch. If neither are 100% duty cycle the trick is to make sure that both of them shut off regularly during use so they can cool down.

I wouldn't worry about check valves - most compressors have some form of check valve between the compressor head and tank anyway so they can "unload" the start up forces on the compressor head.

What I would do is connect an unregulated line from one compressor into the other, and then draw regulated air off the larger tank.
P B G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 05:49 PM   #9
BigEasy
Beastly Adventurer
 
BigEasy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: South of Indy in the hills
Oddometer: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrocks View Post
just make up a T connection and hook them together, they don't have to be the same size and type. i use quick connects.

if you're using a lot of cfm, both will run continuously. they will start and stop independently on their own pressure switches.

This.

One of the systems I operate has one 150 hp, one 200 hp and a dinky little 55 hp compressor manifolded together. We run a total loss system rated at 775 scfm at 95+ psi. They cycle on and off as they need to, independently.

We don't use quick connects though except at a couple of scab points. Everything starts off at a 6" manifold and necks down over the course of the run.
__________________
All who wander are not lost

"Play hard and FLOOR IT" Stevie Ray Vaughan

just remember: the only difference between genius and stupidity is genius has limits
BigEasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014