ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2013, 10:15 AM   #1
mroddis OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Wet Coast of Canada
Oddometer: 151
KTM and torque wrench

I debated putting this in the Garage section of ADV, but figured it's more specific to my KTM, so here it is...

I'm a relatively new 2006 950 Adventure owner and slowly gettting more and more confident maintaining her. I have been slowly building up my tool set, finding things I need along the way and trying to get a decent set together.

I've been borrowing a torque wrench, but now need to get one myself. I'm hoping people here can offer some advice on a good wrench that will cover the various torque specs needed for our beloved 950. Any tips? Tricks? Advice that you can share to a noob? I'm in Canada but close to the border to maybe some tips for both sides of the border?

I will pay for quality, but I'm also not made of money - always looking for a good deal. Ideally I would only need one (3/8 drive?) that will suffice for all my KTM wrenching needs (my sockets are 3/8 drive). I know the torque specs vary across the entire bike, so looking for something that will serve me best.

Ideas?

Thanks as always,
Matthew.
__________________
2006 KTM 950 Adventure - Black
mroddis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 10:50 AM   #2
Orangecicle
Beastly Adventurer
 
Orangecicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Oddometer: 2,067
Good question. I have the same issue. I have a basic Craftsman torque wrench that does not have a ratchet head -- a "Dr. Beam" style. It does not give you enough options for positioning when working on things like spark plugs in a bike with a trellis frame. Get one with a ratchet head.

I thought about this one: http://www.sears.com/craftsman-elect...4&blockType=G4

But the reviews are not so good. It's hard to find one that covers low torque values (15 newtons or so on plugs) and the higher range as well (90 newtons on the rear axle). I hope there are some good suggestions coming.
__________________
"I'd like to meet the joker who had the nerve to call this a road!" -- Walter Sigmann
"Loud tires save lives." -- Unknown
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/brad.horn.9
Orangecicle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 10:54 AM   #3
WARRIORPRINCEJJ
Not in the clique...
 
WARRIORPRINCEJJ's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: South Central Texas
Oddometer: 8,991
Just my humble opinion...


I think two torque wrenches are a must, no matter what bike you own: a beam-style for the lower values, and a ratchet/standard for the higher values.

For what it's worth, all of mine are Craftsman, and have served me well...



EDIT- If you absolutely needed a ratchet-style, for the lower values, you could consider one in inch/lbs, and do the conversion. However, "conversions" could be a great way to screw-up the math, and snap some parts.

.
__________________
I spent all my money on motorcycles, 4X4's, whiskey, and women...The rest I just wasted. (edited to fit/original phrase by "WIBO")

"There's a WEALTH of cool people and knowledge on ADV, there's also a decent sized pocket of douche bag assholes that think their ADV forum Post Count (Oddometer) is their badge at being experienced riders." goodcat8
WARRIORPRINCEJJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 11:06 AM   #4
el queso
toda su base
 
el queso's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: colinas del norte, california sur
Oddometer: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by WARRIORPRINCEJJ View Post
Just my humble opinion..

I think two torque wrenches are a must, no matter what bike you own: a beam-style for the lower values, and a ratchet/standard for the higher values.

For what it's worth, all of mine are Craftsman, and have served me well...

EDIT- If you absolutely needed a ratchet-style, for the lower values, you could consider one in inch/lbs, and do the conversion. However, "conversions" could be a great way to screw-up the math, and snap some parts.

.
I have two older (USA made) Craftsman “Micro-lock” torque wrenches; a 1/2” drive in foot-pounds and a 3/8” in inch-pounds. Both have a Newton-meter scale as well, so no conversions are needed. With a 1/2-3/8 and 3/8-1/4 adapter, I can work on all my vehicles.
el queso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 11:11 AM   #5
WARRIORPRINCEJJ
Not in the clique...
 
WARRIORPRINCEJJ's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: South Central Texas
Oddometer: 8,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by el queso View Post
...Both have a Newton-meter scale as well, so no conversions are needed. ...

Now that is nice.

I have an older "in/lbs" TW, but it doesn't have an N/m scale. I haven't used it in years (I believe it's stuck in the bottom of one of my rifle cleaning boxes.)

Whenever I need a wrench for the smaller values, I've just gotten used to grabbin' the beam-style...


.
__________________
I spent all my money on motorcycles, 4X4's, whiskey, and women...The rest I just wasted. (edited to fit/original phrase by "WIBO")

"There's a WEALTH of cool people and knowledge on ADV, there's also a decent sized pocket of douche bag assholes that think their ADV forum Post Count (Oddometer) is their badge at being experienced riders." goodcat8
WARRIORPRINCEJJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 11:39 AM   #6
cdndog
Adventurer
 
cdndog's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: SW Ontario
Oddometer: 80
Canadian Tire has the 1/2" and 3/8" drive torque wrenches for 60-70% off regularly. Just watch the flyer!
cdndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 12:06 PM   #7
zgfiredude
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Aspen, Colorado
Oddometer: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by el queso View Post
I have two older (USA made) Craftsman “Micro-lock” torque wrenches; a 1/2” drive in foot-pounds and a 3/8” in inch-pounds. Both have a Newton-meter scale as well, so no conversions are needed. With a 1/2-3/8 and 3/8-1/4 adapter, I can work on all my vehicles.
Just a word of caution, using the reducing adapters will generate "false" readings. It is technically not advised. That being said, I have tried to determine the variation, and it has not been significant in my findings.

__________________
'06 950S Adv, DRZ440E, KLX440R, DRZ250, & F650GS
zgfiredude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 12:19 PM   #8
dmn0507
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dmn0507's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Italy, NE, Not too far from Venice
Oddometer: 338
For "usual" maintenance you mostly need a low-range torque wrench (6-20 Nm), might be useful to have also one that covers up to 100Nm or so (head bolts, shock bolts, sprocket etc) but you can live without if you have some experience on wrenching (and if you don't plan to remove cyl. heads)

I'm not extremely picky about torque w., so a decent quality wrench (lets call it 'good deal') is okay, invest the extra money on sockets and spanners.
dmn0507 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 12:29 PM   #9
Schannulleke
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Oddometer: 208
Torque wrenches are very personal and depend on your budget. But you will need 2 wrenches to cover a large range of torques. Look at the torque list of the bike you have.

For regular maintenance, make sure you have the total range of 6 Nm to 90 Nm covered. (90 Nm for rear wheel).
Everything below 6 Nm is just handtight with a screwdriver without lever.

For more advanced maintenance the range should go up to 150 Nm (or 180 Nm with older models).

A torque wrench is typically less accurate at the lower end of its range, so try to avoid that. It's best that you chose the torque wrenches such that they have some overlap in their respective ranges.
Schannulleke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 01:09 PM   #10
mdfehrmann
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mdfehrmann's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Cleveland OhiO
Oddometer: 338
I really like the "click stop" type.
I would buy the best you can afford, and if possible you can test it against a friends for consistency or better
yet find one that had recently been calibrated.

I also learned a trick from cjracer (craig) to paint mark your bolts after being torqued that way trail side you
can take a good guess at how tight by lining up the paint marks when there is no torque wrench available. This is very helpful on any bolts used in changing tubes from flat tires and chain adjustments, but I also mark everything else that gets torqued and just at a glance can see if something is working loose from vibration.

Matthew
__________________
Only when you take 520lbs of motorcycle and snake it through the woods as slow as you can, will you begin to learn just how much you never knew about motorcycling. -Dieseljo-

2006 KTM 950 ADV S - 2004 Sherco 2.9
http://www.mdfeditions.com/
http://www.cjdesignsllc.com/
mdfehrmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:35 PM   #11
Keith
Slabbing it
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: 901
Oddometer: 837
I saw this last night while perusing. Might just work for you.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...=Torque+wrench
__________________
Random Crap
Keith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:37 PM   #12
PMC
riding rider
 
PMC's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Twin Cities MN
Oddometer: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by el queso View Post
I have two older (USA made) Craftsman “Micro-lock” torque wrenches; a 1/2” drive in foot-pounds and a 3/8” in inch-pounds. Both have a Newton-meter scale as well, so no conversions are needed. With a 1/2-3/8 and 3/8-1/4 adapter, I can work on all my vehicles.

I have the same set-up
works awesome and you use them way more often than you'd think if you work on a bike or six.
PMC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 06:40 PM   #13
Deepc
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Oddometer: 299
I'm looking into purchasing a torque driver. I found some on amazon that range from $50 to $200. I believe this is the ideal tool for all of the M5 screws on the engine case.
Deepc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 09:34 PM   #14
SauceSquatch
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SauceSquatch's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 238
You'll need two IMO. I personally own three... At the very least you need a foot pounds with a good range and a small inch pounds. I like craftsman, I own a Husky as well and have been very happy with the quality.
__________________
2010 KTM 990 Adventure
2006 DRZ
1978 Harley FX cut down
SauceSquatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:03 AM   #15
mroddis OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Wet Coast of Canada
Oddometer: 151
Thanks for all the advice! Great to have all your opinions to confirm what I had thought - that likely 2 tools are needed to service our wonderful machines.

Thanks too for the tip of one for sale in the classified.

Love this forum

Thanks all
Matthew.
__________________
2006 KTM 950 Adventure - Black
mroddis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014