ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2013, 08:36 AM   #1
AlanCT OP
The Byronic Man
 
AlanCT's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Northeastern CT
Oddometer: 3,327
Another oil furnace question

Hi,

So apparently when we had our furnace serviced a month ago, the repair man left the fuel petcock for one of our two oil tanks in the off position. As a result, the furnace ran dry after using the oil up in one tank. Normally, it draws from both tanks at once.

Today, I got an oil delivery, bled the air out of the line and now the furnace is up and running.

However, the oil delivery we got filled one tank, but didn't cross over to the other. Normally the two tanks balance when filled, because they have a common fill pipe, and the furnace draws oil from both. What's the deal? How come the oil isn't balancing between the two tanks? How do I get it back to normal?

I dont know if it was necessary, but I shut the petcock off for the empty one so it doesn't suck more air.
__________________
"You wouldn't be riding a motorcycle if you weren't an optimist."
- Matthew Crawford
2005 Ural Tourist, 2000 Kawasaki W650
IBA #23064
AlanCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:33 AM   #2
AlanCT OP
The Byronic Man
 
AlanCT's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Northeastern CT
Oddometer: 3,327
Okay, it seems like they are starting to equalize, just very, very slowly.
__________________
"You wouldn't be riding a motorcycle if you weren't an optimist."
- Matthew Crawford
2005 Ural Tourist, 2000 Kawasaki W650
IBA #23064
AlanCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 10:07 AM   #3
concours
WFO for 41 years
 
concours's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Kensington, NH USA
Oddometer: 5,189
Observed that same thing at my buddies house, I was checking on it for him while he was away all winter on vaca. Didn't equalize, then finally did. This is a GREAT reason to follow accepted service procedure and BLOW OUT THE LINES periodically. I'm guilty of not doing it enough... S L U D G E
__________________
Too much is just barely enough.....
concours is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:09 AM   #4
rapidoxidationman
Easily trainable
 
rapidoxidationman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: The Teton Rockies
Oddometer: 8,137
I wonder if a half barrel of bio diesel would clean things up... Just make sure you have a couple of new fuel filters on hand.
__________________
Quote:
I know I'm feeling badly when I have no interest in speeding
Patrick
rapidoxidationman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:26 PM   #5
DC2wheels
Castle Anthrax troll
 
DC2wheels's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: N.H.
Oddometer: 2,178
I run the furnace at my office on kerosene.

Pricey? Sure. But my tank is outside- so no winter problems. And the furnace, tank and lines stay CLEAN.

More $$ but cheaper long term? Maybe. Plus less worries.
__________________
'92 K100RS
'12 DRZ400
sugarhillctd on the
http://k11og.org/forum/index.php world-wide K bike forum

DC2wheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:26 PM   #6
concours
WFO for 41 years
 
concours's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Kensington, NH USA
Oddometer: 5,189
It's real easy... turn off emergency switch, disconnect both ends of the fuel line, stick one end in a gallon jug, blast it from the other end with compressed air, reconnect line, connect catch hose and open bleeder, turn on switch run till clear fuel, close bleeder. Repeat every two years.
__________________
Too much is just barely enough.....
concours is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:41 PM   #7
HapHazard
t00 0ld 2b n00b
 
HapHazard's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Central CT
Oddometer: 2,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC2wheels View Post
I run the furnace at my office on kerosene.

Pricey? Sure. But my tank is outside- so no winter problems. And the furnace, tank and lines stay CLEAN.

More $$ but cheaper long term? Maybe. Plus less worries.
How much is K1 in NH? I have a Monitor 30 in my garage, and it's getting hard to find K1 in CT. I paid $5 a gallon at a fuel dealer, which beats the $10 a gallon at Home Despot.
HapHazard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:54 AM   #8
DC2wheels
Castle Anthrax troll
 
DC2wheels's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: N.H.
Oddometer: 2,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by HapHazard View Post
How much is K1 in NH? I have a Monitor 30 in my garage, and it's getting hard to find K1 in CT. I paid $5 a gallon at a fuel dealer, which beats the $10 a gallon at Home Despot.
We are just over $4/gallon.
__________________
'92 K100RS
'12 DRZ400
sugarhillctd on the
http://k11og.org/forum/index.php world-wide K bike forum

DC2wheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:21 AM   #9
Lorretto
City Dweller Crushperado
 
Lorretto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Oddometer: 310
A lifetime ago I delivered #2 heating oil. If the tanks aren't equalizing you usually have a vent problem. With a common fill, there should be two vents. If the second tank isn't venting or venting really slow, the delivery driver is hearing the first vent close and shuts down the pump thinking they [both tanks] are full. As mentioned, sludge can be a problem but since the tanks feed the system to empty it could cause the slow equalization but not the false full.


First your oil delivery company will probably check the vents for free as they want to sell you oil and it is easier for them to drop 500 gallons twice a season than 250 four times.


Generally next to the fill pipe are the vent lines. Pull the covers and see if critters have taken up residence in the vent, if so, clear and you're done.
Lorretto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:56 AM   #10
spafxer
Beastly Adventurer
 
spafxer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Oddometer: 2,546
Being that I'm from California and have only heated with natural gas...............


AND, being this is ADV and all............................................... ....................


I'm going to take a wild guess............................................. ......................





YOUR FURNACE IS TELLING YOU IT'S TIME TO CHANGE TO SYNTHETIC FURNACE OIL!!!!!











spafxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 01:42 PM   #11
ttpete
Rectum Non Bustibus
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Dearborn, MI
Oddometer: 5,372
Why does the East coast heat with oil? We've had natural gas here for 60 years or better. Are there no pipelines in New England?
__________________
10 Ducati 1098 Streetfighter S - "Sleipnir"
09 Kaw Versys
67 Triumph Bonneville TT Special
"The problem with Socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money" _____ Margaret Thatcher
ttpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 04:25 PM   #12
concours
WFO for 41 years
 
concours's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Kensington, NH USA
Oddometer: 5,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttpete View Post
Why does the East coast heat with oil? We've had natural gas here for 60 years or better. Are there no pipelines in New England?
The road I live on is 350 years old, nothing but rock and clay down there. We have natural gas in the cities... but rural areas not so much.
__________________
Too much is just barely enough.....
concours is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 04:26 PM   #13
concours
WFO for 41 years
 
concours's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Kensington, NH USA
Oddometer: 5,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by spafxer View Post
Being that I'm from California and have only heated with natural gas...............


AND, being this is ADV and all............................................... ....................


I'm going to take a wild guess............................................. ......................





YOUR FURNACE IS TELLING YOU IT'S TIME TO CHANGE TO SYNTHETIC FURNACE OIL!!!!!











LOL and at $12 a QUART, I'll sleep better knowing the $100 Sundstrand pump will last 300,000 miles!
__________________
Too much is just barely enough.....
concours is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 05:12 PM   #14
TeneRay
2>4
 
TeneRay's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Ohio
Oddometer: 1,675
I don't understand how people here still have oil burning furnaces, either. I'm in this shitty rental for another week but have refused to fill up the 300 gallon tank with $4/gal kerosene (yeah, gasoline drops but not kero).

I tried earlier in the season just to see what the rate of consumption was. Yeah, I went through 10 gallons in 3 days keeping the house at 70F. Since then, I just purchased one of those small convection burners and seek shelter in the bedroom. It's 20ish outside and about 45 in the rest of the house.

Seriously, two seasons of filling up that tank will literally pay for a new heat pump system and pay itself off in no time.
TeneRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:36 PM   #15
1greenmachine
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: green bay, wi
Oddometer: 602
I was talking with a HVAC guy and the waste oil subject came up and its mainly the old people that insist on fixing that old ineffient oil burner and forget trying to sell them a newer propane unit. I've got a 1699 sgft ranch that cost me 160 to heat last month and would hate to pay for waste oil
1greenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014