ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2013, 05:46 PM   #1
ParaMud OP
Studly Adventurer
 
ParaMud's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Orange, CA
Oddometer: 626
First Tire Change, Tube Question

I have done done of tubeless tire changes. This is my first tube one.

The front tire went fine. I open up the rear tire and find this tube.



Is has the tube on the inside and a flap of rubber around it. Should it be seperated like that? It is seperated around the whole tube.
__________________
08 wr250r
04 xt225
ParaMud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:04 PM   #2
KeithinSC
Beastly Adventurer
 
KeithinSC's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Sandhills of SC
Oddometer: 1,251
Is the flap actually attached to the tube? From the pic, the top of the tube looks pretty normal. What you might have is a 'puncture liner' in addition to the normal tube. Was this a used motorcycle?
KeithinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:07 PM   #3
ParaMud OP
Studly Adventurer
 
ParaMud's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Orange, CA
Oddometer: 626
Yes the motorcycle is used, and it didnt have the stock tires. The flap is connected to the tube. Tube was holding air fine.
__________________
08 wr250r
04 xt225
ParaMud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:14 PM   #4
KeithinSC
Beastly Adventurer
 
KeithinSC's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Sandhills of SC
Oddometer: 1,251
Maybe someone that has used them will chime in, but you might have a Heavy Duty tube that has come separated from the extra layer. I can't guess if you can use it as-is, replace the tube, or re-glue it back together.
KeithinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:41 PM   #5
Bigger Al
Still a stupid tire guy
 
Bigger Al's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Auburn, CA
Oddometer: 7,825
Looks like someone took an old tube, cut it up, and made a liner out of it. The theory is that it'll give a standard-duty tube some extra protection. It won't hurt anything to reuse it, or you can toss it. Your choice.
__________________
"I'd rather wake up in the middle of nowhere than in any city on Earth."

Steve McQueen




Bigger Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:10 PM   #6
Dratharr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Dratharr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Western Nebraska
Oddometer: 233
When I was a teen I worked in a bicycle shop, we used to do that to all the bikes we sold. Cut the tube down the middle and remove the valve stem, and then wrap it around the new tube. We always filled the new tube with Slime, and we seldom ever had problems with flats. Of course the whole process added a lot of weight but it was a whole lot better on wheels than the old solid tubes were, and the bikes still rode well.
Dratharr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:44 PM   #7
ParaMud OP
Studly Adventurer
 
ParaMud's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Orange, CA
Oddometer: 626
Messaged the previous owner and he said the dealer didnt have heavy duty tubes so, I guess they made their own.
__________________
08 wr250r
04 xt225
ParaMud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014