ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2013, 08:44 AM   #1
Crocodile Tears OP
The 906
 
Crocodile Tears's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, OH ; Houghton, MI
Oddometer: 3,466
Multimeters!

So for work I need a different multimeter. I have a Fluke 365 that was provided for me. However, it does not have enough resolution to be useful - some of our older equipment using DC drives needs tuning down to the mVDC (at least hundreths VDC) while the 365 only goes down to tenths. Its a great meter otherwise, and the detachable clamp makes it great for compact panels.

Anyone have any suggestions for a different meter? I used Fluke 177s at my last job, and it would be fine in this application but then A) I would need to carry another clamp meter probably and B) damn they are spendy. Anyone have experience with other equipment? Initially I was provided some form of Extech meter and the thing would constantly read 6-10 volts higher than any other meter so I ditched it ASAP. I dont recall model though.
__________________
“I'm not going to censor myself to comfort your ignorance."

2009 KLX250S
2005 Bandit 1200S
Crocodile Tears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 09:03 AM   #2
seuadr
Wee-stromer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Eaton Rapids,mi
Oddometer: 768
i have used a UEI DL-289. I've used it only in the automotive and HVAC fields, but i've used it to check Mili amps and Mili Volts (AC) with no problems. it auto ranges nicely, just have to give it a second. I've never actually tried Mili Volts (DC).
seuadr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 11:57 AM   #3
HillbillyNinja
Beastly Adventurer
 
HillbillyNinja's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ozarkistan
Oddometer: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crocodile Tears View Post
So for work I need a different multimeter. I have a Fluke 365 that was provided for me. However, it does not have enough resolution to be useful - some of our older equipment using DC drives needs tuning down to the mVDC (at least hundreths VDC) while the 365 only goes down to tenths. Its a great meter otherwise, and the detachable clamp makes it great for compact panels.

Anyone have any suggestions for a different meter? I used Fluke 177s at my last job, and it would be fine in this application but then A) I would need to carry another clamp meter probably and B) damn they are spendy. Anyone have experience with other equipment? Initially I was provided some form of Extech meter and the thing would constantly read 6-10 volts higher than any other meter so I ditched it ASAP. I dont recall model though.
Fluke 87.
__________________
“I had rather be shut up in a very modest cottage with my books, my family and a few old friends, dining on simple bacon, and letting the world roll on as it liked, than to occupy the most splendid post, which any human power can give.” -Thomas Jefferson

Tornado Alley Rally, June 10th, 2011!
HillbillyNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:47 PM   #4
68deluxe
Beastly Adventurer
 
68deluxe's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Phoenix AZ
Oddometer: 12,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillbillyNinja View Post
Fluke 87.
Can you use it while wearing hippo hands?
__________________
2010 KTM 990ADV
2004 KTM 250SX
68deluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:10 PM   #5
68deluxe
Beastly Adventurer
 
68deluxe's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Phoenix AZ
Oddometer: 12,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillbillyNinja View Post
Fluke 87.
Looks like $$$$$ for the meter and the clamp, for the price I would think you could keep the 365 and get another meter with the required resolution.
__________________
2010 KTM 990ADV
2004 KTM 250SX
68deluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:17 PM   #6
kobudo28
Beastly Adventurer
 
kobudo28's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampster. Live, Freeze and Ride.
Oddometer: 5,850
We don't use anything but Fluke in the shop for hand held DMM's, unless it is for bench top, then it is Agilent all the way. Fluke gear isn't cheap, but it works and has proven reliability.
__________________
Be yourself, everyone else is already taken.
kobudo28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:46 PM   #7
Bokrijder
Soyez sans que peur
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Mile north of Turkey Point light house
Oddometer: 313
Buy the appropriate Fluke product and be done with it.
I'm now retired from a career in aviation. I bought my first Fluke in my 20s. When I was about 45, my dad was complaining about his meter and commented that he sure liked my Fluke unit. With a sudden impulse, I handed him the meter and said, " Here dad it's yours ", and bought myself another. Now twenty plus years later, both units are still going strong. Before retirement the meters were regularly checked and certified per regulations, it's now a few years, but I'm confident both would still certify. Unless Fluke quality has faltered, I'm a believer.

Bokrijder
__________________
KTM525EXC
KLR650
Bokrijder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:08 AM   #8
HillbillyNinja
Beastly Adventurer
 
HillbillyNinja's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ozarkistan
Oddometer: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by kobudo28 View Post
We don't use anything but Fluke in the shop for hand held DMM's, unless it is for bench top, then it is Agilent all the way. Fluke gear isn't cheap, but it works and has proven reliability.

Exactly this. Although we also use an occasional Keithly for some specialized things, the Agilent bench tops and Fluke DMM's have been flawless and resilient to lab techs doing stupid things with them.
__________________
“I had rather be shut up in a very modest cottage with my books, my family and a few old friends, dining on simple bacon, and letting the world roll on as it liked, than to occupy the most splendid post, which any human power can give.” -Thomas Jefferson

Tornado Alley Rally, June 10th, 2011!
HillbillyNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:14 AM   #9
HillbillyNinja
Beastly Adventurer
 
HillbillyNinja's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ozarkistan
Oddometer: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by 68deluxe View Post
Looks like $$$$$ for the meter and the clamp, for the price I would think you could keep the 365 and get another meter with the required resolution.
Since he said it was for work, I was recommending professional grade gear. I'd buy one personally and have done so as I'm a firm believer in the quality and reliability of the Fluke DMMs.

Although, since he said clamp, maybe he's doing DC current measurements with the hall effect probe clamp. In that case, I'd go with something a bit more spendy than the 365, such as the 376 with iLoop. We just purchased a 381 with the remote lcd for work around very high voltage DC systems and it's been a treat.
__________________
“I had rather be shut up in a very modest cottage with my books, my family and a few old friends, dining on simple bacon, and letting the world roll on as it liked, than to occupy the most splendid post, which any human power can give.” -Thomas Jefferson

Tornado Alley Rally, June 10th, 2011!
HillbillyNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:29 AM   #10
a1fa
Riding Nomad™
 
a1fa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Arkansas
Oddometer: 13,502
Can someone commend on oscilloscopes too?
__________________
Learn to ride. Ride to learn.
a1fa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:34 AM   #11
HillbillyNinja
Beastly Adventurer
 
HillbillyNinja's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ozarkistan
Oddometer: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1fa View Post
Can someone commend on oscilloscopes too?
What are you trying to scope? There's a giant range of equipment and you probably don't need lab grade scopes.
__________________
“I had rather be shut up in a very modest cottage with my books, my family and a few old friends, dining on simple bacon, and letting the world roll on as it liked, than to occupy the most splendid post, which any human power can give.” -Thomas Jefferson

Tornado Alley Rally, June 10th, 2011!
HillbillyNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:50 AM   #12
a1fa
Riding Nomad™
 
a1fa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Arkansas
Oddometer: 13,502
pulse width modulation on injectors.. :)
maybe timing, and other range of automotive sensors... etc etc
__________________
Learn to ride. Ride to learn.
a1fa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 03:53 PM   #13
_cy_
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Oddometer: 5,429
another vote for Fluke 87V...
_cy_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014