User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-30-2013, 06:53 AM   #1
BlipOnTheRadar OP
Crash Test Dummy

Oddometer: 14
Help choosing my newest distraction

Hey gents and ladies, this is my first post, but by far my first bike. I have been riding for more than thirty years, and I think I have riden at least one from every major manufacturer that ever lived in the states. At present I have two road going bikes, a 2001 Ducati SS 900ei, and no, you will pry that one out of my dead hand on the side of a road. Love it. And I have the one style of bike I have never been without since I rode my first one. A 2000 Honda XR650L. Now this one is mildly modified, (read that as a slight understatement.) and only a few miles. (again, an understatement, this time very serious.) And I want to draw a few of you into a discussion for an adventure bike.

Discussion = Debate, remember that please.

Please sound of with your choice of bike, lets keep them to the under ten year old mark just to narrow the field a bit, and above the 600cc motor. I don't care if it is a thumping single, a butter smooth four slug, V motor or Inline. Manufacturer does not matter either, I am a DIY guy, but i am a nut about doing it as right as the budget will allow. Now and then waiting and grounding the bike till it CAN be done correctly. I want a comfortable bike, but my idea of a good road bike is my Duc. I need a bike that will let me run extra legal speeds with out having to work to hard at it.

I will admit to having my eyes set on a Tiger right now, but the KTM has a draw as well. Please feel free to sound off!

Old Dog...

Youth and exuberance are no match for age and trechery.

2001 Ducati SS 900ei, 2000 XR650L (Fred), 1994 YZ/WR 250 2t, 2005 CRF 230f, 1985 XR100.
BlipOnTheRadar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:09 AM   #2
the shoe
I need more Coffee!!

Oddometer: 110
Well... let's start with this: