User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-03-2013, 08:13 AM   #1
bigtrailie OP
He shoots-HE SCORES!

Oddometer: 592
How to apply clear vinyl sheet???

I am planning to mount a giant loop mojave bag to my xr650r. I know from past experience that a saddle bag will grind sand and silt into the plastic and leave the white side covers looking not-so-white afterwards.

I was hoping to add a layer of clear protective vinyl sheet to the white side panels - but I have no experience with the stuff. I can bring the side panels indoors assuming that the vinyl will adhere better at room temp (I have to keep my beer in the fridge to prevent freezing -- very cold garage). But if they are mounted on the bike, I have a planted, fixed surface to work with, rather than a loose piece of plastic bodywork.

Looking for suggestions....

'04 KTM 950 ADVENTURE (black) - '05 Honda XR650R (plated) - '97 Honda XR600R (plated) - '99 Honda Valkyrie Interstate (joy rides with my wife and kids)
bigtrailie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 10:02 AM   #2
74C5
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 886
The 3M stuff goes on by applying a dilute soap solution to the part and the film. Position and then stretch and squeegee until all the bubbles and creases are out. Note that on some complex geometries, you may need to cut a V in the film because you can't make it go in the "unshrink" direction.
74C5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 10:04 AM   #3
fast4d
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,033
few drops of dish soap of water in a spray bottle

you probably want to keep the parts above freezing for a few days......
2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100
2013 KTM SMT 990
fast4d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 11:50 AM   #4
YukonTracker
Ride your Way

Oddometer: 249