ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS Tracks - Oz and Kiwi Land
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2009, 05:20 PM   #1
atgreg OP
Africatwinarama
 
atgreg's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Sydney Australia
Oddometer: 10,013
Garmin topo Australia ??

Anyone tried this ?? if so how does it compare to Shonky, T4A& Oztoppo
__________________
1990 RD04 Africa twin 750
350,000km and still going strong
atgreg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 05:36 PM   #2
rosscoact
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by atgreg
Anyone tried this ?? if so how does it compare to Shonky, T4A& Oztoppo
you beat me to it Greg.

It does have auto-routing which none of the others have.

I'm particularly interested in
  • the quality of the maps i.e. does it have the tracks and are they where they think they are;
  • is there a road heirachy; and
  • can it replace CN and either Oztopo or Shonky (T4A doesbn't have topo) ?
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 12:37 AM   #3
GodSilla
I did that.
 
GodSilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Village Idiot's residence
Oddometer: 7,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosscoact
It does have auto-routing which none of the others have.
You've got my attention.

Is there a source of information on this? It's the first I've heard of it.

It's strange, I'm sitting here building a new map file for my GPS after updating the firmware a few minutes ago, and I wander in here and wait! There's more!!. Autorouting offroad mapping gives me a woody. Although the GPSMAP60's have a mind of their own when it comes to autorouting.
GodSilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 02:43 AM   #4
atgreg OP
Africatwinarama
 
atgreg's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Sydney Australia
Oddometer: 10,013
http://www.chsmith.com.au/cgi-bin/he...st&Display=332
__________________
1990 RD04 Africa twin 750
350,000km and still going strong
atgreg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 03:54 PM   #5
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
Both OZtopo and TOPO Australia have noticably more 4WD tracks than Tracks4Australia and Shonkymaps.

OZtopo uses roads and tracks data from Map Data Sciences/PSMA
TOPO Australia uses NavTeq data
T4A and Shonky use Geoscience Australia data

Still trying to get a handle on the OZtopo and TOPO Australia differences
.
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 06:47 PM   #6
rosscoact
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnieM
Both OZtopo and TOPO Australia have noticably more 4WD tracks than Tracks4Australia and Shonkymaps.

OZtopo uses roads and tracks data from Map Data Sciences/PSMA
TOPO Australia uses NavTeq data
T4A and Shonky use Geoscience Australia data

Still trying to get a handle on the OZtopo and TOPO Australia differences
.
Burnie,

How accurately auto-routing would work is a key consideration. I'm thinking that on the 60cx on tar roads it gets confused and sometimes wants you to go back to where you started from.

that would become tiresome very soon.

I might be tempted to be a guinea pig though
ross
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 01:49 AM   #7
GodSilla
I did that.
 
GodSilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Village Idiot's residence
Oddometer: 7,586
Rossco, the 60CSx has a mind of its own for routing. When you hit navigate, it does an auto-recaclc every time. It means that often it will take you places you just didn't want to go, so judicious use of waypoints and via points is required to get it to go the way you want it to. It's a pain. But tracks are sweet!
GodSilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 04:34 AM   #8
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
OZtopo V3 (in development) will do auto-routing mainly to compete with TOPO Australia.

Still believe you should be doing a lot of manual planning and road condition checking before going off in the Outback tho
.
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 08:50 PM   #9
GodSilla
I did that.
 
GodSilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Village Idiot's residence
Oddometer: 7,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnieM
OZtopo V3 (in development) will do auto-routing mainly to compete with TOPO Australia.
Yipee!
Still believe you should be doing a lot of manual planning and road condition checking before going off in the Outback tho
.
+1. Just 'cos the map says it's there doesn't mean a lot when you're out in the boonies.
GodSilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 06:42 PM   #10
desert dog
scrub basher
 
desert dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Port Lincoln
Oddometer: 1,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnieM

Still believe you should be doing a lot of manual planning and road condition checking before going off in the Outback tho
.
so true !!!

but some spend more time plannin da RESCUE



she sat on the side of the track for three and a half weeks, then another week in the trailer on the side of the same track 80 km north, before I got her home !!
good GPS/map skills are important out here !!

31'10"18.7 S
133"59"44.1 E
19 aug '08 13:25 hrs.
desert dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 08:15 PM   #11
rosscoact
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnieM
OZtopo V3 (in development) will do auto-routing mainly to compete with TOPO Australia.

Still believe you should be doing a lot of manual planning and road condition checking before going off in the Outback tho
.
Obviously not mutually exclusive.

Hema outback maps lives beside my bed, wifey now just grunts now when I wake up in the middle of the night and pull it out.








come on, get your mind out of the gutter
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 05:37 AM   #12
Micl
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: ACT Australia
Oddometer: 261
Hi guys

I just bought Garmin Topo Aus last week. I needed a GPS and decided the 60 CX would do nicely but needed maps. I wanted both street level and topo. Looking at reviews and talking to GPS OZ I decided to give the Garmin Topo a go. I can't compare to shonky etc as I havn't loaded them but it seems really good. Around Canberra and on my trip on Easter Oallen/ nerriga / sussex/kangaroo valley home it worked great. The around town street maps seems as good as my car navman and it calculates routes and recalcs quicker. Off road it seems to route on all tracks it knows about ie you can set a point out on a 4wd track and it seems to take you there. Havn't tried much trip planning on PC and transfering yet. Didn't play much with this as the main area I tried was around kangaroo valley and all the tracks i wanted to explore turned out to be private property. Overall I am really happy. Ended up costing $750 ish for Garmin, mounts for both bikes, and the maps which is cheaper than a zumo, does all the street stuff and has the topos.

MicL
Micl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 06:02 AM   #13
Micl
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: ACT Australia
Oddometer: 261
After reading some other posts I decided to check the routing again. The Garmin topo does not route tracks only roads. The issue I guess is how many of the places you want to go are covered by roads. I am happy with the overall routing and I suspect it will get me to and from where I want to be and I can view the tracks and find my way around them.

Looking around Canberra particularly in the Brindies there are heaps of "roads" shown as well as a network of "tracks". For example up to Mt Coree is a road as is places like Flea Creek and heaps of the interconnecting trails. These are all routable. THere are also heaps of other tracks shown that arn't however routable. Hopefully over the next few weeks I can go explore them...

ANy Canberra people that want to look and play feel free to let me know others will have to wait til Newnes or maybe Delegate.

MicL
Micl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 08:11 PM   #14
GodSilla
I did that.
 
GodSilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Village Idiot's residence
Oddometer: 7,586
Hi Micl, did you get the garmin topo on DVd or preloaded on a card? Just wondering.......
GodSilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 08:18 PM   #15
Micl
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: ACT Australia
Oddometer: 261
Had the option of either so went with DVD so I can look at it on the PC. The whole of Aus does fit on a 2M card so I copied to that and stuck it in the GPS. I have been playing with it a bit on the PC and on the GPS but havn't really tried loading routes between them etc yet... Only had it a week and was away 4 days of that

MicL
Micl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014