ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2014, 07:54 AM   #1
rossguzzi OP
990 Adv.
 
rossguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Bottom left hand side of OZ
Oddometer: 835
Wiring light bar to 990 ARRRhhh

Its my fault. I should have listened better in science classes.
I am good a making things, but electrics shit me.

Got a light bar with a wiring loom inc. Has a simple flush mount switch, relay, fuse and two ends to conect to pos and neg.

Problem is I want to wire it so it comes on when I hit h/beam if I have it swiched on. If its switched off it stays off when h/beam is used.

Anyone got the patience to write how to? I relise I will have to cut/mod the nice loom they supplied, thats ok.

Cheers.


Im too old to go back to science classes now
__________________
990 Adv 06, Aprilia Tuono 03 Racing gen 1
rossguzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 08:50 AM   #2
Off Road Ryder
Beastly Adventurer
 
Off Road Ryder's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Kent Wa
Oddometer: 2,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossguzzi View Post
Its my fault. I should have listened better in science classes.
I am good a making things, but electrics shit me.

Got a light bar with a wiring loom inc. Has a simple flush mount switch, relay, fuse and two ends to conect to pos and neg.

Problem is I want to wire it so it comes on when I hit h/beam if I have it swiched on. If its switched off it stays off when h/beam is used.

Anyone got the patience to write how to? I relise I will have to cut/mod the nice loom they supplied, thats ok.

Cheers.





Im too old to go back to science classes now


If its a quality harness, it will have a main power wire to the battery and the power to the switch will only be a trigger for the relay.
Run the power wire going to the switch to the high beam power wire.
(pulling power from the high beam)
This will allow you to use both the on/off switch and high beam switch to operate the light. The light will not come on when the LEDs on/off switch is turned off but will come on with the high beams if the lights switch is on.

Note that the high beams would need to be on in order to turn the light bar on.
__________________
When Quality matters,Its all about choices.
Cyclops Performance LED Vendors thread
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=839163
www.cyclopsadventuresports.com
1-800-624-0278
Off Road Ryder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 12:36 PM   #3
05magmn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
05magmn's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: S.E. MN
Oddometer: 116
Ok let's start at the battery,you need 1 + wire(hot), fused near the battery, run that to terminal# 30 on your relay. Tee off your high beam power wire, run that through your switch and then to terminal#85 on the relay. Power wire going to the light bar should go to terminal # 87. Ground wire for light bar to battery negative and also teed to terminal # 86 for your relay ground. It's also possible to put the switch on the ground side of the relay, but most people find that harder to diagnosis when there is a problem! How many amps is this light bar going to draw?
05magmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 06:43 PM   #4
ABuck99
0.0
 
ABuck99's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Georgia
Oddometer: 511
To get the lights to operate with high beam, you'll need to choose either one of the two wires coming from the switch and connect it to the high beam "hot" wire coming from the head light (I think its blue on my Euro headlight) . The lights will only get power when the high beam is on. The other wire from the switch goes directly to the relay.



Quote:
Originally Posted by rossguzzi View Post
Its my fault. I should have listened better in science classes.
I am good a making things, but electrics shit me.

Got a light bar with a wiring loom inc. Has a simple flush mount switch, relay, fuse and two ends to conect to pos and neg.

Problem is I want to wire it so it comes on when I hit h/beam if I have it swiched on. If its switched off it stays off when h/beam is used.

Anyone got the patience to write how to? I relise I will have to cut/mod the nice loom they supplied, thats ok.

Cheers.


Im too old to go back to science classes now
__________________
KTM: 06 KTM950S & 10 KTM450EXC
ABuck99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 10:34 PM   #5
craigincali
Just hanging around
 
craigincali's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: A town called Hell
Oddometer: 1,946
What they said
__________________
Me
I am usually drunk when I post so dont take it personally !
2010 KTM 990
craigincali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 05:34 PM   #6
rossguzzi OP
990 Adv.
 
rossguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Bottom left hand side of OZ
Oddometer: 835
I will give it a go.........but if you hear a loud explosion,
__________________
990 Adv 06, Aprilia Tuono 03 Racing gen 1
rossguzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 03:29 AM   #7
rossguzzi OP
990 Adv.
 
rossguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Bottom left hand side of OZ
Oddometer: 835
Finally got time to get into it. Thanks for the info. Worked it out and it works fine. Just need a waterproof switch. The one supplied is not up to water etc. Repco and the other mob didn't have one so will get one Monday.
Cheers.
__________________
990 Adv 06, Aprilia Tuono 03 Racing gen 1
rossguzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 12:04 AM   #8
Peanuts
Beastly Adventurer
 
Peanuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,487
Under what circumstances would you not want the light bar to come on with high beam?
I cant see the point of the switch!
Peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 01:18 AM   #9
rossguzzi OP
990 Adv.
 
rossguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Bottom left hand side of OZ
Oddometer: 835
When riding around town/suburbs. Dont want to attract police attention if I dont have to.
__________________
990 Adv 06, Aprilia Tuono 03 Racing gen 1
rossguzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 02:25 PM   #10
craigincali
Just hanging around
 
craigincali's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: A town called Hell
Oddometer: 1,946
I sometimes ride with the high beam during the day depending how crazy traffic is. I wouldn't want it on then.
__________________
Me
I am usually drunk when I post so dont take it personally !
2010 KTM 990
craigincali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 07:45 AM   #11
Wookie97
Wow!That was close.
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Oddometer: 28
One of the best ways to connect any aux light is with the skene light controller. It will handle multiple lights and is programmable so you can control the voltage to fog or light bars to a lower setting then full power when High Beam is turned on. If you flash your lights from High to Low it will send all attached lights to the controller into a random flashing pattern for 3 sec. This is really good when passing a car in daytime.

http://www.lights.skenedesign.com/IQ_150.shtml
__________________
Warning Labels are only Recommendations!!!
Wookie97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014