Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-06-2013, 06:10 AM   #1
Casey. OP
Nerd on a bike

Oddometer: 70
Handguard install

Hi all,

I'm new to all aspects of motorcycling, and I'm adding my first thing to the bike: handguards. Following the directions was simple enough, but I'm looking for some sort of technique/trick to getting the rubber sleeve into the bar end. I chopped the grip's end off, and pushed the guard's assembly in, but the rubber sleeve is SO damn tight that even with twisting and swearing, it only gets about half-way in (the back end bulges, making it even more impossible). I about ground my palm raw in the process.
I'm going on the deduction that my stock CRF250L handlebars are steel (powder-coated, magnetic).
Thanks for helping out a noob.
Old 02-06-2013, 06:12 AM   #2
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!

Oddometer: 48,692
I'm not familiar with your specific guards, but one way to make rubber slippery, but yet stick when dry is to use hairspray as a lube. It is slick until it dries, then stickey. I would assume this is your goal.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:22 AM   #3
Casey. OP
Nerd on a bike

That does sound effective. I have Tusk D-Flex guards.
Thanks.
Old 02-06-2013, 06:25 AM   #4
Stu
Buffo Maximus

Oddometer: 894
Slippery then Sticky

I use Dawn dish soap. I use it when flipping rear knobby tires or installing new ones. When dry it helps grip.

Most bar end mounting hand guards for dirt bikes have an expanding alloy piece that tightens against the inside wall when the external set screw (normally a 5mm hex) is tightened. Like the above poster, I'm curious. What are you installing?

Stu
Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:32 AM   #5
Casey. OP
Nerd on a bike

Awesome. I do have that handy - I don't think I have any hairspray.