ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-31-2012, 07:27 AM   #1
kantuckid OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Kentucky-Eastern that is!
Oddometer: 3,108
Garmin Zumo 550 Repair Parts Source???

Anybody know where to get new rubber parts for this unit? My rubber at the on/off switch gave out so the "button" fell off & now not weather proof. This is a common problem & I've not seen a reasonable fix yet. One guy used a pencil eraser-not a logical repair on a pricey unit.
I posted on www.zumoforums.com & no real ideas there either. So far I don't have an idea other than $150 unnecessary send-in to Garmin or a rough repair with silicone , liquid rubber. After 30 mins on hold I gave up on Garmin tech line waiting. IDEAS??? Thanks!
kantuckid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 08:46 AM   #2
ghostryder
made it
 
ghostryder's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 5,944
Call garmin, when they tell you the cost haggle with them. I have been able to get anywhere between 10 and 40% off repair costs.
ghostryder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 10:16 AM   #3
mbfj40
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Modesto, Ca.
Oddometer: 170
I had the exact same issue on my 550. I called and spoke with a customer service gal about replacement parts. She said they didn't have just the buttons, but since my unit was in otherwise good working order, she offered to exchange it for $75 instead of the $150 flat rate.
If you elect to send yours in, be sure and save any pictures, waypoints, phone numbers etc to your computer that you might have on your 550 otherwise you'll lose it when you turn yours in for exchange.
I use a rubber conditioner on my 550 to keep the buttons flexible so it won't happen again... I hope...
mike
mbfj40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 12:09 PM   #4
Mudcat
Unregistered
 
Mudcat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Bay Area
Oddometer: 4,472
You know, I read about an inexpensive fix for the buttons on a 550. It must have been in the GPS forum here but I don’t see a thread on it. It might be in the Digitizer thread.
I do a google search.
__________________
I've got to be cool
Relax
Take a long long ride on my motor bike
Untill I'm ready
Mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 01:25 PM   #5
kantuckid OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Kentucky-Eastern that is!
Oddometer: 3,108
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbfj40 View Post
I had the exact same issue on my 550. I called and spoke with a customer service gal about replacement parts. She said they didn't have just the buttons, but since my unit was in otherwise good working order, she offered to exchange it for $75 instead of the $150 flat rate.
If you elect to send yours in, be sure and save any pictures, waypoints, phone numbers etc to your computer that you might have on your 550 otherwise you'll lose it when you turn yours in for exchange.
I use a rubber conditioner on my 550 to keep the buttons flexible so it won't happen again... I hope...
mike

I wonder what sort of unit they send you back? One thats had a hard life or not... Glycerin is kind to rubber but not really a preservative & I've never heard of anything that acts that way for rubber???
kantuckid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 05:39 AM   #6
kantuckid OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Kentucky-Eastern that is!
Oddometer: 3,108
I'm biting the Garmin bullet & sending mine in for the $75 deal. They state that you usually get a different unit back, thats gone through their checks and with 90 day warranty from there. I asked if I get new rubber all around & it was obvious she really didn't know. I tried for the notion of them selling me the rubber parts which didn't happen.
kantuckid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 06:01 AM   #7
roger123
Beastly Adventurer
 
roger123's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: VA Beach, VA
Oddometer: 1,624
Had the same issue. Sent it in for the $150 replacement deal, I called several weeks later wondering where my unit was. The reply was that it was on backorder with no date to give me. I wasn't too happy to say the least, they ended up sending me a 660 for $10 more.

I don't like it as much as the 550 and had to buy a second mount for the other bike as the base on the 660 is hardwired unlike the 550 that had a plug and I could swap it from bike to bike. Overall a huge pain, hope they have 550's in stock!!
__________________
'14 Tenere ES
COG 5903
roger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 04:42 AM   #8
kantuckid OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Kentucky-Eastern that is!
Oddometer: 3,108
Being a tightwad I wore the girl out & she said that the $75 deal is not to be beaten, with the suggestion that she has to get "special" permission to do that. Really, she doesn't know much except what she's told to say.
kantuckid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 11:01 AM   #9
Andrew UK
over socialised
 
Andrew UK's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: South America
Oddometer: 59
The $75 refurb deal is still to be had, though you have to be persistent to get them down from $150.

I had a friend flying down at short notice. Full marks to Garmin as they shipped it overnight to California for the standard $8 shipping fee.

Arrived in Nicaragua this morning

Andrew UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 01:44 AM   #10
OldSchool750
Old Rider
 
OldSchool750's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Florida
Oddometer: 102
For a while there was a source for the 550 demo cases....the ones you saw in the showroom. They are identical to the real ones...except no guts and a dummy screen. I got one several years ago for 10 bucks. Unfortunately, I can't remember the dealer that sold them!

Jim
OldSchool750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 03:26 AM   #11
Loui€
Rides With Reindeer
 
Loui€'s Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: PoroWaara
Oddometer: 50
zumo 550 power button fix

hi.

here is my easy power button fix:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...&postcount=197


L
__________________
2008 KTM 990 ADV

Loui€ screwed with this post 12-02-2013 at 03:34 AM
Loui€ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 07:55 PM   #12
GodSilla
I did that.
 
GodSilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Downtown S.E. NSW
Oddometer: 7,932
I've just been trying to source the rubber part for the on/off switch for a 60 CSX. Garmin simply won't sell them. I suspect that their actions are actually illegal, but I'm not a billionaire and can't afford to access the "justice system" to test that out.
I got lucky, a generous inmate has a dead unit he is happy to post to me, otherwise I'd be up for $200 for a refurb unit (Aussie prices eh) to fix a failed $2 part, on a device that only cost $299 new. As much as I like the unit, Garmin are extortionists. I will NEVER buy from them again. My phone does GPS? now as well, so as a consumer I have a valid alternative as backup.
__________________
Death to Turnips.
GodSilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 10:27 AM   #13
Randall
Adventurer
 
Randall's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: Currently in Florida
Oddometer: 377
Zumo Button Repair Site

I was looking around the web for information on repairing the buttons on a Zumo 550. I came across this site offering a repair for the missing rubber buttons. Not a true replacement but rather a repair of some sort.
I have not tried it as yet but am seriously thinking about it.

http://www.palmdr.com/cart/garmin-zu...ice-p-141.html
__________________
Randall

2002 Graphitan GS
Ride Long, Ride Safe, Ryd On

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming --WOW-what a ride!!
Randall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015