ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-20-2014, 07:56 PM   #1
jengel451 OP
1 Cool MotherF#$cker
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Eastern WA
Oddometer: 684
13+ Hawk Light Mount

So, I pulled the trigger on this to see what's up.

It's pretty beefy, but the whole setup is only as strong as the plastic it's mounted to.

I'm working with Cyclops to see how big of a setup can be done with this. More to come:





jengel451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 08:15 PM   #2
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,639
Very cool.
The extreme LEDs are 700 grams each. Try to hang a pound and a half on the hook and see how it vibes.
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 08:19 PM   #3
jengel451 OP
1 Cool MotherF#$cker
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Eastern WA
Oddometer: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebrabaek View Post
Very cool.
The extreme LEDs are 700 grams each. Try to hang a pound and a half on the hook and see how it vibes.
When the snow melts... on top of it, putting the current house on the market tomorrow...my days of playing in the garage will be coming to a close hopefully soon.
jengel451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 07:54 AM   #4
The Island
Im lost.
 
The Island's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Clayburn, B.C.
Oddometer: 219
These look fantastic. Where did you get them from?
The Island is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 08:17 AM   #5
jengel451 OP
1 Cool MotherF#$cker
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Eastern WA
Oddometer: 684
http://www.twistedthrottle.com/sw-mo...-bmw-f800gs-12
jengel451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 12:35 PM   #6
The Island
Im lost.
 
The Island's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Clayburn, B.C.
Oddometer: 219
They look like they'd get in the way of my TT Uppers. Hmmm. Interesting. ^Thanks.
The Island is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 04:08 AM   #7
fnatic
Gnarly Adventurer
 
fnatic's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: VIC, Kilmore
Oddometer: 146
Hawk Mounts

Interesting. I have 2013 also, purchased the OEM BMW mounts for a hefty sum, got a pair of Clearwater Darlas fitted at the moment, great amount of light from a 2" unit nice wide beam gives great vision of edges of road and a bit more light past the high beam.

But.... I want more light!!!... So was thinking this bracket and a set of Clearwater erica's insted. I think I can fit them to the OEM brackets I already have ... I'll make em fit, but interested to know how the hawk brackets handle a bit of weight on them. To give me another option if they didn't fit...

no pressure or rush....



Or cyclops if you persuade me.. .
__________________
Lets make like babies and head OUT!
- F800gs -
fnatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 06:54 AM   #8
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,639
I mentioned that the Extreme long Range LED's from Cyclops were 700 grams each, but for got to mention the mount is 268 grams, so almost 1 kilo, or a little over 2 pounds. The mount was to heavy for me to use, so I made my own. It is build like a tank, a very well constructed light. Do you have a 2 pound weight, you can tape to the mount to see how sturdy it is...???
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 09:21 AM   #9
jengel451 OP
1 Cool MotherF#$cker
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Eastern WA
Oddometer: 684
Cyclops package received last night!!!

Optimus Rounds will be going on today!!!


After I pull my daughters KLX110 apart to see how bad she shredded the transmission yesterday...a fathers work is never done.
jengel451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 10:49 AM   #10
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,639
Pic's.... or....it.....didn't....happen.
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 11:36 AM   #11
jengel451 OP
1 Cool MotherF#$cker
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Eastern WA
Oddometer: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebrabaek View Post
Pic's.... or....it.....didn't....happen.
Lucked out. Trans wasn't the problem. Clutch exploded.

On to the lights!!!
jengel451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 11:55 AM   #12
jengel451 OP
1 Cool MotherF#$cker
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Eastern WA
Oddometer: 684
The Hawk mount doesn't have enough real estate on the mounting tab to allow these lights to be on top, if they were about 1/2" or so wider, no problem.

For now I just threw them on the mounts to see what they'd look like.

I "might" look into tig welding a wider tab to these if I really want them on top.



jengel451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 12:15 PM   #13
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,639
Waiting for my two opti's coming in tomorrow. A am curious..... If you go and ping them with your finger, do they vibrate a lot.... It looks like big lights for a small mount....????
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 12:25 PM   #14
jengel451 OP
1 Cool MotherF#$cker
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Eastern WA
Oddometer: 684
Funny, I was just playing around with that.

the mount itself isn't vibrating. The entire front end does.

Not sure i'm hip on this mounting setup which sucks because I REALLY REALLY want these lights on the bike!!!

jengel451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 12:30 PM   #15
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by jengel451 View Post
Funny, I was just playing around with that.

the mount itself isn't vibrating. The entire front end does.

Not sure i'm hip on this mounting setup which sucks because I REALLY REALLY want these lights on the bike!!!
OK.... so I'm gonna throw this at ya..... What if you could loose the front blinks, and mount the opti's in their position. Is that a sturdier place. Reason I ask this, is on the '09's , and prior to 2013, I think, it is pretty sturdy, as the reason that I put my blinks on the bash guard, and D2's, and now Opti's in the front blinks location. If your front blinks are a better location, then perhaps now is a good time to do the "lingo's led blink mod" in your bash buard..... Ha ha. Told ya.... I am that guy.
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014