Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Road warriors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-17-2013, 11:01 PM   #1
cb4017 OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 86
What bike did you like more than you thought you would?

We have a thread about bikes you didn't like as much as you thought you would. How about the opposite? Bikes you liked much more than you thought you would.

For me it was the VStrom DL1000. I always thought they were ugly and never had a desire to own one. Then I started looking for a bike that was fun to ride, had a relaxed, upright riding position and could be used for 2-up touring. The DL1000 meets all my requirements and looks better in person.

Anybody else?
I was a Vietnam Veteran before it was popular.
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.
cb4017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 11:11 PM   #2
Steve G.
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 6,617
In 1991 I wanted to get rid of my 3 yr old Ducati in the worst way. It had been a mechanical night mare, a dealership system imploding in Canada, a gigantic money pit. I decided to go from a red, sexy, Italian model, to a wide assed, ugly German housewife, as bikes go. I rode home on my new R100GS, with it's weird switchgear that I had to pull over twice to figure out.
After 2 weeks, I understood. The thing works. 23 years, 130,000kms, and countless attempts by other companies to duplicate, this thing is WAY more bike than I originally thought it was.
Steve G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 11:32 PM   #3
Vincenthdfan
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 416
DL1000 Vee for me too...the dang thing is getting ridden more and more this winter. I cant seem to get enough of just puttin around on this scoot...its just a fun, torquey bike to ride.
Vincenthdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 11:46 PM   #4
Croak
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 529