ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 05:09 PM   #1
dmac57 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
dmac57's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 2,630
Navigator IV Quick Disconnect?

Question for the collective: Looking at putting a Nav IV onto an R1200GS. Unlike the SP 2720 I have at the present, it appears that the Navigator cradle (as well as the 660 cradle) are "hard wired," meaning that the leads from the cradle to the power supply don't unplug. That appears to mean that while you can disconnect either GPS receiver from the cradle, the cradle stays on the bike permanently, whether you have it clamped to the crossbar or to some flavor of RAM mount. Have I sorted this out correctly? Even if I have, has anyone found a way to pull the receiver and the cradle while leaving the wiring in place? Thx!
__________________
"Everybody's got to believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer."
- W. C. Fields
dmac57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 05:28 PM   #2
Mudcat
Unregistered
 
Mudcat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Bay Area
Oddometer: 4,472
I have my Zumo 450 powered from an accessory port on left hand side of the beak on my BMW.
My Zumo rarely is removed from its cradle, only when I need to connect it to my home computer.
The power cord stays connected to the Mount, (cradle), all the time. When I remove the unit from my bike, I unplug the short power cord from the accessory port on my beak. Power cord, cradle, and Zumo are removed as one package and placed into a saddlebag or my room for the night.
__________________
I've got to be cool
Relax
Take a long long ride on my motor bike
Untill I'm ready
Mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 05:39 PM   #3
Emperor Norton
Kilroy was here
 
Emperor Norton's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: North of Alcatraz
Oddometer: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmac57 View Post
Question for the collective: Looking at putting a Nav IV onto an R1200GS. Unlike the SP 2720 I have at the present, it appears that the Navigator cradle (as well as the 660 cradle) are "hard wired," meaning that the leads from the cradle to the power supply don't unplug. That appears to mean that while you can disconnect either GPS receiver from the cradle, the cradle stays on the bike permanently, whether you have it clamped to the crossbar or to some flavor of RAM mount. Have I sorted this out correctly? Even if I have, has anyone found a way to pull the receiver and the cradle while leaving the wiring in place? Thx!
Cradle and wires stay in place, GPS itself comes off when Im going to leave the bike. I have a feeling that modding the cradle to make it removable would probably cause electrical and waterproofing issues down the line.
__________________
Pics of whatever/where ever http://joee.smugmug.com
I used to be indecisive, now I'm not so sure.
Emperor Norton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:31 PM   #4
Mudcat
Unregistered
 
Mudcat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Bay Area
Oddometer: 4,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeDuck View Post
I have a feeling that modding the cradle to make it removable would probably cause electrical and waterproofing issues down the line.
What, the cradle won’t fit onto a RAM mount?

I just have a RAM mount mounted on my handlebars just below the clutch perch. It works great and I can remove my whole unit in about 30 seconds.

The only times I feel I need to remove the unit is when I am having lunch in a wonky area, I like real Mexican food, or when at a motel
__________________
I've got to be cool
Relax
Take a long long ride on my motor bike
Untill I'm ready
Mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:40 PM   #5
dmac57 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
dmac57's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 2,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudcat View Post
What, the cradle won’t fit onto a RAM mount?

I just have a RAM mount mounted on my handlebars just below the clutch perch. It works great and I can remove my whole unit in about 30 seconds.
No, I think he meant making the cradle removable while leaving the wiring in place, which is what I'd like to do. I probably do at least 80% of my riding without the 2720. Well 100% right now, because I haven't even wired the power lead onto the 1200. But on the 1150, it was 80%. The power lead stayed in place, then all I had to do was attach the RAM arm and cradle, plug in the unit and go. I'd just rather not have the Nav IV cradle on there all the time, as it looks like my plan is to mount it to a MiGSel RAM mount, rather than the accessory cross bar. I just like the idea of the OE plug and play wiring rather than using an accessory socket, or DIY hard wire.
__________________
"Everybody's got to believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer."
- W. C. Fields
dmac57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 03:08 AM   #6
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,697
If you search the forum, you will find multiple similar threads.

Basically, you can use your choice of power connectors and then a removeable type mount (RAM or otherwise) or one of your design.

Then you can unplug the cord, disconnect the mount, and remove the whole thing.

Some people just use SAE connectors for power, others have used more weatherproof connectors, powerlet connectors, etc.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:17 AM   #7
dmac57 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
dmac57's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 2,630
Yeah, I guess I'm just looking for a solution that Garmin didn't design into the unit; removing the unit (including the cradle) while leaving the wiring in place. I guess leaving the cradle there with the weather cap on the terminals won't be that bad.
__________________
"Everybody's got to believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer."
- W. C. Fields
dmac57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:50 PM   #8
Mudcat
Unregistered
 
Mudcat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Bay Area
Oddometer: 4,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave View Post
Some people just use SAE connectors for power, others have used more weatherproof connectors, powerlet connectors, etc.
Yep, Powerlet/BMW is the way to go IMO. BMW makes a kit for what I did; also, it was an option for the bike when I bought my GS. It was an easy, inexpensive upgrade.
__________________
I've got to be cool
Relax
Take a long long ride on my motor bike
Untill I'm ready
Mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 06:16 PM   #9
dmac57 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
dmac57's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 2,630
That's not the end I want to quickly disconnect. I want the MC mount to work like the car mount; unplug at the cradle.
__________________
"Everybody's got to believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer."
- W. C. Fields
dmac57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:29 PM   #10
Mudcat
Unregistered
 
Mudcat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Bay Area
Oddometer: 4,472
I know, I was commenting and expanding on Dave’s post.
__________________
I've got to be cool
Relax
Take a long long ride on my motor bike
Untill I'm ready
Mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014