Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-26-2013, 07:24 PM   #1
Hesaid OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 930
Are all motorcycle parts two weeks away?

So I'm a bit new to wrenching on bikes, so maybe this is normal and I'm just out of touch, but it seems like everytime I need a factory part, it takes the better part of two weeks to get. I understand that most dealers don't have one of everything in stock, but shouldn't they be able to get it from a distribution center in a timely fashion?

I spend my days wrenching on cars, and German cars at that. OE or OEM hard parts are readily available, mostly next day, though we do have one supplier ~45 miles away that delivers several times a day. For "dealer only" type stuff, it's usually two days, maybe three if it's too big to go by UPS. The only time we have to wait a week is if something needs to be specifically made or programmed in Germany and then shipped.

So far it seems that every Suzuki part I've needed has had to be ordered, and it goes like this:

Monday: I place an order for a new brake lever.

Tuesday: ?

Wednesday: ?

Thursday: I call to see how my order is coming. I'm told it's not here yet. They thought it would have been there yesterday, but wasn't.

Late Thursday: I get a call to let me know that my part is there, and they'll be shipping it to me as soon as they can.

Friday: I'm told my part is shipped.

Saturday: Nothing, it's the weekend.

Sunday: See above, you heathen bastard, you shouldn't even be thinking about working on motorcycles on the Lord's day!

Monday: I get an email with a tracking number telling me my package is ready to be shipped.

Tuesday: My package is in transit.

Wednesday: My package is in Vernon, CA.

Thursady: My package is in my town, out for delivery.

Lunchtime Thursday: I have my part.

This amounts to approx. a week and a half! Is this normal?

MV