Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-12-2013, 02:12 PM   #1
AdventurePoser OP
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,964
Best All Around Jacket for a Six Month Trip

Hi all, and thanks in advance....

I'm leaving (God Willing) on a six month tour of the northern and southern hemispheres, and need some advice on a good "overland" jacket.

I'm not a newbie. Been riding since 1997 and have amassed around 300K miles. I mention this only because I think I've purchased, during that time, about every piece of moto gear available in the Free World.

I currently ride in RiderWearHouse AD 1 pant. Comfortable, waterproof, and broken in, they'll cover my butt for the trip...

But what about jackets? I currently have an Olympia AST2, which seemed like a good choice-lots of vents for the summer heat, and with armor that seems to provide good protection....but here's the rub: the jacket purports to be waterproof, but it not, by any stretch of my imagination.

The owners of the company are wonderful people-I've spoken to them on several occasions, and believe they genuinely make a quality product. My AST 2 is my "go to" jacket here in sunny So Cal. When I talked to them about my jacket soaking through, they advised I wash it carefully, and then spray it with ScotchGard. This worked...for awhile. In a nutshell, as much as I enjoy my AST 2 I don't think it's got the stamina for 6 months on the road, in every possible weather condition!

So, what do you wear, and why? What garments have worked for you on long expeditions? Any and all opinions will be gratefully and thoughtfully accepted.

Happy traveling,

Steve
Old 03-12-2013, 02:36 PM   #2
totomoto
Adventurer

Oddometer: 98