Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > The perfect line and other riding myths
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-28-2013, 12:24 PM   #1
Snapper OP
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,498
Butt Lube? How Can I Reduce Pants:Seat Friction?

OK, have your fun with the KY jokes, but I have serious question (street riding).

For safety, I like getting a cheek off the seat during spirited cornering and under uncertain conditions (blind corners, unknown roads, surface imperfections) and my knees just ain't what they used to be with the constant unweighting and butt shifting - I pretty much stick to the tighter technical twisties.

I started riding in jeans and leathers in my youth, then used textile suits for over a decade, and am now back to leathers for the past 3 yrs or so. The leathers stick to the seat much more than textiles and prevents easy sliding from side-to-side and my aging knees are finally catching up to me. I really prefer the safety and comfort of the leathers and so am looking for ways to reduce the friction between my ass and the seat.

Just wondering if you good folks, or track day junkies, had any good suggestions. Of course, I'd prefer not to do anything irreversible (eg, ArmourAll my seat).

Thanks!
Old 03-28-2013, 12:51 PM   #2
txwanderer
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 496
I hope the Armor All was a joke. Many things come to mind in your opening that would help, although not go over well around here. Are you wanting to slide on the seat or get rid of a hot behind? SOmetimes I don't undersand the code here LOL

I'm not a track guy and never really "got" riding the streets like I was. Seems detrimental, but everyone has their comfort zone. I have been known to cross some large states in a day though.