ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-15-2013, 08:50 AM   #16
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,178
Thumb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Yup, I know. See my post of the 13th above.

Dell has several choices and others as well no doubt. I wonder if this will be like netbooks were: here briefly, then gone.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 09:35 AM   #17
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
There are a few tablets (8" and up) out now that run Windoze 8 (8.1). Add a bluetooth mouse and Bob's your Uncle. Run BaseCamp and/or Mapsource.
as long as those are Windows 8 Pro tablets and not the RT ones.
only the pro versions are true Windows that can load any program written for Windows. they are more pricey than the cheaper RT ones that need tablet specific software.

unless it says Windows Pro (tablet) it's not. don't buy one and then be disappointed to find it will not run mapsource or basecamp. verify what you are buying!
if it's labeled Pro then you are good. some are not labeled Pro but they are indeed full Windows not the RT tablet Windows. and finally some are not labeled Pro and are truly RT versions.
MS made a big mistake with the not full Windows RT tablet and i'd say those are going away, but always check.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_8_editions

here is a Dell Pro tablet
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...d_i=1000957911
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2428009,00.asp
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Cycle World Adventure Rally:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=956350

eakins screwed with this post 12-15-2013 at 09:49 AM
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 09:59 AM   #18
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
As others have said 10" is the smallest that runs the OS you need for Mapsource/Basecamp.
I have an Acer Aspire One with the Solid State Drive (upgraded to 32GB from 8GB). It has an 8.9" screen with a wide bezel so it's the same size as most 10" screen netbooks. Smaller than that would be painful to really do much with.
10" is not the smallest. never was.

there are less common 8" (Sony) netbooks
and very common 9" (Dell mini 9/vostro a90) ones.

i'm running a vostro a90 (screen hinges back farther than mini 9) with 2gb ram, 32gb fast runcore solid state hard drive, another 64 gb of storage w/ the sd card (used for Itunes songs & movies) & Windows 7 home premium 32bit. it's nice and fast w/ Windows 7 (not a big Windows 8 fan at this point...time will tell. i bypassed Vista completely) and mapsource & google earth.

yes it's fatter than a tablet, but it has the version of Windows i want (Win 7) plus the true laptop jacks and features (incredibly sharp screen, 2 full size usb ports, vga port, ethernet port, sd card slot) i want. no moving parts (passive cooling system & solid state hard drive). works for me.

then there is that Dell 8" Windows Pro tablet i posted above.
just add this to get your start button back
http://www.stardock.com/products/start8/
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Cycle World Adventure Rally:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=956350

eakins screwed with this post 12-15-2013 at 10:13 AM
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 10:39 AM   #19
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,178
thanks for the clarifications eakins

I was aware of the RT issue but failed to include that in my (quoted) post. In some other post I had noted "not RT". As others do too, MS has a sometimes confusing naming scheme. Too many almost the same names with vastly different feature sets.
Netbooks seem to have mostly dropped out of the markets and tablets/convertibles are emerging.

I recently got the tablet in albie's link and really miss the good old START. 8.1 touted a START but it's not the good one.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused

250senuf screwed with this post 12-15-2013 at 05:54 PM Reason: found the answer to the question I deleted
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 10:46 AM   #20
ramz
Professional Trail Rider
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salida, CO
Oddometer: 1,943
On Big River:

Toshiba Encore WT8-A32 8-Inch 32 GB Tablet by Toshiba
List Price: $329.99
Price: $299.99


Better reviews.

ramz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 07:44 AM   #21
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
I recently got the tablet in albie's link and really miss the good old START. 8.1 touted a START but it's not the good one.
There's a hack for 8 that gives you the START icon, just google it.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 04:38 PM   #22
jonz
Miles are my mantra
 
jonz's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: CA dez (it's a dry heat)/West Yellowstone,MT
Oddometer: 2,082
From Costco.com:

http://www.costco.com/Dell-Venue-8-P...100082672.html

$279

They had a special a couple weeks ago for costco members that was cheaper and I ordered one but my wife paid for it as my Xmas present. It got here but now she won't let me play with it until xmas I've been looking at the Pelican case for tablets and will probably get one for this tablet and then that will be my traveling setup.

My recent trip to Mexico made me wish I had something along to do routing. Between my riding partner and I, we had 3 gps's which agreed on our location in the Sierra Madre mountains but each one showed a different route choice at one point. We both wished for a computer to do route planning and uploading. I'm hoping this tablet will fill that role.
__________________
JONZ
KTM 950 SE, KTM640 ADV ( Hibachi, risen from the ashes)
KTM520EXC (broken), KTM 400XC (the replacement)
Honda ST1300 ABS (newest addition to the stable)
STOC #326 IBA #217
jonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 06:24 PM   #23
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonz View Post
It got here but now she won't let me play with it until xmas
Patience grasshopper Good score. It'll run Basecamp just fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
There's a hack for 8 that gives you the START icon, just google it.
Good tip. Found some freeware, Classic Shell, that did the trick. Thanks for the nudge.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 04:45 AM   #24
Sleddog
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Sleddog's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: SE South Dakota
Oddometer: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonz View Post
From Costco.com:

http://www.costco.com/Dell-Venue-8-P...100082672.html

$279

They had a special a couple weeks ago for costco members that was cheaper and I ordered one but my wife paid for it as my Xmas present. It got here but now she won't let me play with it until xmas I've been looking at the Pelican case for tablets and will probably get one for this tablet and then that will be my traveling setup.

My recent trip to Mexico made me wish I had something along to do routing. Between my riding partner and I, we had 3 gps's which agreed on our location in the Sierra Madre mountains but each one showed a different route choice at one point. We both wished for a computer to do route planning and uploading. I'm hoping this tablet will fill that role.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
Patience grasshopper Good score. It'll run Basecamp just fine.
Well, Christmas Is over...have you had a chance to check it out? I'm assuming if it will run Basecamp it'll also run Mapsource? What about creating & loading track / routes into the GPS?

Sleddog
Sleddog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 02:28 PM   #25
Skizzo
Adventurer
 
Skizzo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Lucca, Tuscany, Italy
Oddometer: 31
I've bought some days ago this little object.. and i love it! :)
http://us.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/model/NT.L1JAA.002

Windows 8 is perfect for use in tablet mode, and when you need to use mapsource/basecamp you can switch in desktop mode with a finger :)
Decent battery life (8hr), affordable price (i paid 249eur for the 32Gb model).. perfect companion for my trips!
__________________
"No plan is a good plan"
Skizzo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 02:43 PM   #26
worwig
Lost in Georgia
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Oddometer: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleddog View Post
Well, Christmas Is over...have you had a chance to check it out? I'm assuming if it will run Basecamp it'll also run Mapsource? What about creating & loading track / routes into the GPS?

Sleddog

Does Mapsource work with Win 8? Basecamp does of course.
That Dell is only 32GB. You need to figure in an additional memory card to the price.
Online reviews weren't disappointed with it.
__________________
Hog mountain Weather
worwig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 03:02 PM   #27
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,178
Yes, Mapsource works with Win 8. I have the same tablet as Skizzo. Basecamp works better than Mapsource in the "touch" environment. Some things in Mapsource don't seem to work as they do on the desktop. I have a Bluetooth mouse arriving which will make it easier to use. I am totally new to touch interface.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 04:05 PM   #28
Sleddog
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Sleddog's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: SE South Dakota
Oddometer: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
Yes, Mapsource works with Win 8. I have the same tablet as Skizzo. Basecamp works better than Mapsource in the "touch" environment. Some things in Mapsource don't seem to work as they do on the desktop. I have a Bluetooth mouse arriving which will make it easier to use. I am totally new to touch interface.
What do you mean "some things in Mapsource don't seem to work as they do on the desktop"? Is it because of not using the mouse?
Sleddog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 04:59 PM   #29
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,178
Probably mostly me not being used to a touch interface, partially MapSource being pre-touch and partially the 8" screen and trying to get the right touch on the right spot. Once I get the mouse I'll know if part of it is Mapsource/Win8 not playing nice.
Edit: I've stayed with Mapsource 6.13.7 . The newest version might behave differently.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused

250senuf screwed with this post 12-29-2013 at 05:10 PM
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 08:06 PM   #30
jonz
Miles are my mantra
 
jonz's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: CA dez (it's a dry heat)/West Yellowstone,MT
Oddometer: 2,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleddog View Post
Well, Christmas Is over...have you had a chance to check it out? I'm assuming if it will run Basecamp it'll also run Mapsource? What about creating & loading track / routes into the GPS?

Sleddog
I'm still trying to get comfortable with Windows 8.1 using a touchscreen. Today, I was looking around for a micro to mini cable and neither Radio Shack or Best Buy had such a cable. I did find a 4" long one amidst my stuff so I can use that for the time being. I'm going to contact both Garmin and Bicimapas tomorrow (Monday) and see if I can get my maps (City Navigator 2010 and 2013 Bicimapas maps) loaded onto the tablet. Then I'll try to load routes/tracks from the tablet to the Garmin 478. I should have more to report in a couple days.
__________________
JONZ
KTM 950 SE, KTM640 ADV ( Hibachi, risen from the ashes)
KTM520EXC (broken), KTM 400XC (the replacement)
Honda ST1300 ABS (newest addition to the stable)
STOC #326 IBA #217
jonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014