User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-15-2013, 03:53 PM   #1
smokeeater495 OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 583
Advice for rider with low back injury

I am 46 years old and constantly deal with a 25yo low back injury. Basically the disk at my L5 is shot. I am fortunate that through physical fitness and my chiropractor I am able to keep working as a firefighter. I experience some pain and stiffness on longer rider, over 2 hours.
Are there any others out there with similar issues and how have you dealt with it?
Old 04-15-2013, 05:34 PM   #2
justcountry04
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 142
pain in the neck

in a word, drugs. I am also a 38 yo firefighter, and have screwded up my c-4 and 5 at work , and on a few hr rides with the wind constantly blowing my helmet and straining those joints, it kills me. I refuse to stop riding, but i try and stop often and stretching helps a bit but eventually I take a half of a percocet just to ease it where i can concentrate on riding again. I hate it but I only have to take one 2 or 3 times a month so just my 2 cents.
justcountry04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 05:40 PM   #3
VStromTom
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,579
I have 4 herniated discs, L3L4, L4L5, L5S1, and a cervical. No surgeries but epidurals worked great so far. These were full blown herniations, not just back strains. Watch your posture, look up Master Yoda Riding Position, do your therapy, make sure your seat is wide enough to keep your ass cheeks from being off center too far but have support. Work on core strengthening the most, planking is by far the best, and if you are a fatty, like me, dump the pounds which affect your sitting posture. I was lucky in all of this, hope you are too.
VStromTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 05:45 PM   #4
baloneyskin daddy
bikaholic

Oddometer: 1,963