User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-21-2013, 05:40 PM   #1
joshsvoss OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 14
Thumb Need Advice for two-up trip through California

Hey guys, I'm new to ADVrider and not the most experinced rider. Right now I'm looking for a bike to take me and my girlfriend down on a one-month trip through California. We need generous luggage to carry month of stuff for the two of us, but also looking for something in the sporty direction of VFR as opposed to the comfort end of the spectrum like a Goldwing or Concourse. What advice could you give me in terms of what to pack? How to plan the trip? And of course what bike to buy? On Craigslist in Seattle I end up circulating around these models for around $3500 to $4500

1. Honda VFR800i
2. BMW F650gs
3. Aprilia Futura
4. Suzuki Bandit
5. Yamaha fz1/6 (I wish, too expensive)
6. BMW R1100s
I need a bike that comes with luggage, i know I might need to put in some work to install luggage on the Fazers

Resale value is also important to me because I'm likely to sell it after the trip.

Another thing, is it ok to ride 2-up on a bike like the vfr where I can't adjust the suspension for the increased weight?
joshsvoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 12:57 AM   #2
wheatwhacker
It's raining here

Oddometer: 2,891
Buy yourself a nice used Suzuki Vstrom 650.
You will like it, your girlfriend will love it.
Cheap, simple, economical, good luggage ability and comfortable
Old 04-22-2013, 01:41 AM   #3
Pecha72
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 3,351