User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-27-2013, 07:17 PM   #1
jnclem OP
True Airhead

Oddometer: 273
Tips For Downhill Cornering

I started riding motorized two wheelers again last fall, after about 30 years of on and off road bicycling. Let me say that I'm 55 years old, and not at all interested in setting any speed records. My interest in riding is doing a lot of dual sport miles here in western Colorado, enjoying myself, and becoming a smooth, safe rider, and doing some longer cross-country tours.

I guess I have put on about 3500 miles since I got my GS last September. It has been a blast, and I learn a lot every time I get it out. Today was the first time this year that I had enough confidence in the weather to take a longer ride outside of our valley, which always requires crossing some high passes. It was a beautiful day and a great ride.

But, what I'm noticing is that I am much more confident going up passes than descending. The roads are in good shape, but being Spring, you always have the possibility of sandy patches, snowmelt running across the road and carrying debris, and rocks coming down, just around any corner, not to mention the yahoos that don't seem to realize there are two lanes on road.

I know the physics of why downhill cornering robs us of more front wheel traction, but I am looking for any techniques that you all use for better downhill cornering on pavement or dirt. I find myself tightening up, going slower, and having to consciously relax and concentrate much more on technique when descending. I am better on right handers than left too. Granted, the consequences for mistakes on our bigger passes can be pretty severe, but I know i can improve a lot. Again, Speed is not realy my goal, smoothness and confidence are, and I don't want to be an obstacle either.

Sorry for the long post - any advise?
jnclem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 03:41 AM   #2
PeterW